Alcon 8065149527Recalls & reported problems
Alcon Laboratories, Inc. · Microsurgical Instrument 23GA SOFT TIP CANNULA, DSP, 0.8MM · Class 1
Data updated Oct 16, 2026 from official FDA records · Editorial policy
- Adverse event reports
- 3
- Deaths reported
- 0
- Injuries reported
- 0
- Recalls naming it
- 0
Summary
The FDA's MAUDE database contains 3 adverse event reports that list this exact device (DI 00380651495272), received between Apr 24, 2024 and Apr 25, 2025 — classified as 3 malfunctions.
The most frequently reported specific device problem is “Disconnection” (2 reports).
Reports come from manufacturers, hospitals and patients and are not verified by the FDA. A report does not prove the device caused the event, and counts can't be used to compare devices or estimate failure rates. What reports can and can't tell you · How this data works · Data updated Oct 16, 2026.
Reports received per month
Most reported problems
Device problems
- Disconnection2
- Particulates2
- Material Separation1
Patient problems
- Insufficient Information3
- No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions1
Recent adverse event reports
The 3 most recent of 3 reports, in the reporter's own words as published by the FDA.
MalfunctionApr 25, 2025Disconnection; Particulates; Disconnection; Particulates
THE HEALTHCARE PROFESSIONAL REPORTED THAT DURING VITRECTOMY SURGERY A PLASTIC FROM AN OPHTHALMIC CANNULA WAS DETACHED AND TOUCHES THE RETINA. PATIENT IMPACT WAS NOT REPORTED.
Patient problems: Insufficient Information
MAUDE report 21908027 ↗MalfunctionApr 25, 2025Disconnection; Particulates; Disconnection; Particulates
THE HEALTHCARE PROFESSIONAL REPORTED THAT DURING VITRECTOMY SURGERY A PLASTIC FROM AN OPHTHALMIC CANNULA WAS DETACHED AND TOUCHES THE RETINA. PATIENT IMPACT WAS NOT REPORTED.
Patient problems: Insufficient Information
MAUDE report 21908019 ↗MalfunctionApr 24, 2024Material Separation; Material Separation
A NURSE REPORTED THAT DURING SURGERY AN OPHTHALMIC SURGICAL SOFT TIP IN THE CANNULA CAME OFF WHILE BEING INJECTED THE PRODUCT INSIDE THE PATIENT'S EYE (UNKNOWN) AND IT WAS RETRIEVED WITH A FORCEPS. THE SURGERY WAS COMPLETED ON THE SAME DAY. THE TYPE OF PROCEDURE AND PATIENT IMPACT WAS NOT REPORTED.
Patient problems: Insufficient Information; No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 19170199 ↗
Other Cannula, ophthalmic devices
- iTrack Advance iTrack-ADSNova Eye, Inc. · Cannula, Ophthalmic53 reports
- iTrack 250ANova Eye, Inc. · Cannula, Ophthalmic1 recall2 reports
- Vortex Surgical Inc VS0200.25Vortex Surgical, Inc. · Cannula, Ophthalmic1 recall0 reports
- Vortex Surgical Inc VS0275.27Vortex Surgical, Inc. · Cannula, Ophthalmic1 recall0 reports
- Vortex Surgical Inc VS0220.25Vortex Surgical, Inc. · Cannula, Ophthalmic1 recall0 reports
- Visitec® 585278Beaver-Visitec International, Inc. · Cannula, Ophthalmic1 recall0 reports
- Vortex Surgical Inc VS0205.23Vortex Surgical, Inc. · Cannula, Ophthalmic1 recall0 reports
- Vortex Surgical Inc VS0250.25Vortex Surgical, Inc. · Cannula, Ophthalmic1 recall0 reports
Sources and updates
- Device record: FDA GUDID, file dated Oct 13, 2026 · View this device in AccessGUDID ↗
- Adverse event reports: FDA MAUDE, file dated Oct 14, 2026 · each report above links to its original FDA record
- Recalls: FDA Medical Device Recalls, file dated Oct 16, 2026
- Page last rebuilt: Oct 16, 2026. Data downloaded through openFDA, which notes it is not validated for clinical or regulatory use.
How reports and recalls are matched · Editorial policy · Report an error on this page