ZEPHIR® Anterior Cervical System 8792813Recalls & reported problems
Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc. · SCREW 8792813 VA SELF DRILLING 3.5X13MM · Class 2 · Implant
Data updated Oct 18, 2026 from official FDA records · Editorial policy
- Adverse event reports
- 3
- Deaths reported
- 0
- Injuries reported
- 2
- Recalls naming it
- 0
Summary
The FDA's MAUDE database contains 3 adverse event reports that list this exact device (DI 00721902610653), received between Feb 15, 2018 and Jun 12, 2019 — classified as 2 injuries, 1 malfunction.
The most frequently reported specific device problem is “Migration or Expulsion of Device” (2 reports).
Reports come from manufacturers, hospitals and patients and are not verified by the FDA. A report does not prove the device caused the event, and counts can't be used to compare devices or estimate failure rates. What reports can and can't tell you · How this data works · Data updated Oct 18, 2026.
Most reported problems
Device problems
- Migration or Expulsion of Device2
- Migration1
Patient problems
- Scarring2
- No Known Impact Or Consequence To Patient1
Recent adverse event reports
The 3 most recent of 3 reports, in the reporter's own words as published by the FDA.
MalfunctionJun 12, 2019Migration; Migration
PROCEDURE: ANTERIOR CERVICAL DISCECTOMY AND FUSION (ACDF). LEVELS IMPLANTED: C6-7. IT WAS REPORTED THAT POST-OP, CEPHALAD SCREW HAD BACKED OUT ANTERIORLY APPROXIMATELY 3MM, PAST THE LOCKING WIRE OF THE INTERBODY DEVICE WAS SHOWED IN X-RAY. NO PATIENT COMPLICATIONS WERE REPORTED.
Patient problems: No Known Impact Or Consequence To Patient
MAUDE report 8690716 ↗InjuryFeb 15, 2018Migration or Expulsion of Device; Migration or Expulsion of Device
IT WAS REPORTED THAT PATIENT WAS PRE-OPERATIVELY DIAGNOSED WITH BACKED OUT SCREW OF LEFT C3 AND UNDERWENT ANTERIOR CERVICAL DISCECECTOMY AND FUSION. POST-OP, SCREW HAD LOOSENED AT C3. THIS WAS OBSERVED IN THE FOLLOW UP ON (B)(6) 2017. THE PATIENT DID NOT STATE ANY DISCOMFORT, BUT DID MENTION A FALL FROM A STANDING POSITION TWO WEEKS PRIOR TO HIS FOLLOW UP VISIT. ON (B)(6) 2018, AN ATTEMPT WAS DONE TO REMOVE THE SCREW/HARDWARE BUT ABORTED DUE TO SCARRING
Patient problems: Scarring
MAUDE report 7272532 ↗InjuryFeb 15, 2018Migration or Expulsion of Device; Migration or Expulsion of Device
IT WAS REPORTED THAT PATIENT WAS PRE-OPERATIVELY WITH BACKING OUT OF LEFT C3 SCREW AND UNDERWENT ANTERIOR CERVICAL DISCECECTOMY AND FUSION. POST-OP, SCREW HAD LOOSENED AT C3. THIS WAS OBSERVED IN THE FOLLOW UP ON 20 DEC 2017. THE PATIENT DID NOT STATE ANY DISCOMFORT, BUT DID MENTION A FALL FROM A STANDING POSITION TWO WEEKS PRIOR TO HIS FOLLOW UP VISIT. ON (B)(6) 2018, AN ATTEMPT WAS DONE TO REMOVE THE SCREW/HARDWARE BUT ABORTED DUE TO SCARRING.
Patient problems: Scarring
MAUDE report 7272530 ↗
Other APPLIANCE, FIXATION, SPINAL INTERVERTEBRAL BODY devices
- CD HORIZON® SOLERA® VOYAGER™ Spinal System 6550017Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc. · Appliance, fixation, spinal intervertebral body131 reports
- EVEREST® Spinal System 2901-10001VB Spine LLC · APPLIANCE, FIXATION, SPINAL INTERVERTEBRAL BODY119 reports
- ZEVO™ Anterior Cervical Plate System 7710015Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc. · APPLIANCE, FIXATION, SPINAL INTERVERTEBRAL BODY1 recall1 report
- XLP 7565050Nuvasive, Inc. · APPLIANCE, FIXATION, SPINAL INTERVERTEBRAL BODY1 recall0 reports
- Elegance® Anterior Cervical Plate 53430344Clariance · Appliance, Fixation, Spinal Intervertebral Body1 recall0 reports
- ATLANTIS® Anterior Cervical Plate System 876-170Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc. · APPLIANCE, FIXATION, SPINAL INTERVERTEBRAL BODY1 recall0 reports
- XLP 7565060Nuvasive, Inc. · APPLIANCE, FIXATION, SPINAL INTERVERTEBRAL BODY1 recall0 reports
- Elegance® Anterior Cervical Plate 53430113Clariance · Appliance, Fixation, Spinal Intervertebral Body1 recall0 reports
Sources and updates
- Device record: FDA GUDID, file dated Oct 13, 2026 · View this device in AccessGUDID ↗
- Adverse event reports: FDA MAUDE, file dated Oct 14, 2026 · each report above links to its original FDA record
- Recalls: FDA Medical Device Recalls, file dated Oct 16, 2026
- Page last rebuilt: Oct 18, 2026. Data downloaded through openFDA, which notes it is not validated for clinical or regulatory use.
How reports and recalls are matched · Editorial policy · Report an error on this page