Skip to content

LimeLightRecalls & reported problems

Cutera, Inc. · LimeLight IPL Handpiece · Class 2

Adverse event reports
3
Deaths reported
0
Injuries reported
3
Recalls naming it
0

Summary

The FDA's MAUDE database contains 3 adverse event reports that list this exact device (DI 00816722022110), received between Apr 29, 2024 and Jul 2, 2024 — classified as 3 injuries.

The most frequently reported specific device problem is “Insufficient Device Problem Information” (2 reports).

Reports come from manufacturers, hospitals and patients and are not verified by the FDA. A report does not prove the device caused the event, and counts can't be used to compare devices or estimate failure rates. How this data works · Data updated Oct 13, 2026.

Reports received per month

Nov 2023: 0 reportsDec 2023: 0 reportsJan 2024: 0 reportsFeb 2024: 0 reportsMar 2024: 0 reportsApr 2024: 1 reportsMay 2024: 0 reportsJun 2024: 0 reportsJul 2024: 2 reportsAug 2024: 0 reportsSep 2024: 0 reportsOct 2024: 0 reportsNov 2024: 0 reportsDec 2024: 0 reportsJan 2025: 0 reportsFeb 2025: 0 reportsMar 2025: 0 reportsApr 2025: 0 reportsMay 2025: 0 reportsJun 2025: 0 reportsJul 2025: 0 reportsAug 2025: 0 reportsSep 2025: 0 reportsOct 2025: 0 reportsNov 2025: 0 reportsDec 2025: 0 reportsJan 2026: 0 reportsFeb 2026: 0 reportsMar 2026: 0 reportsApr 2026: 0 reportsMay 2026: 0 reportsJun 2026: 0 reportsJul 2026: 0 reportsAug 2026: 0 reportsSep 2026: 0 reportsOct 2026: 0 reports2024202520262
Last 36 months. The most recent month may be incomplete.

Most reported problems

Device problems

  • Insufficient Device Problem Information2
  • Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem1
  • Improper or Incorrect Procedure or Method1

Patient problems

  • Partial thickness (Second Degree) Burn2
  • Full thickness (Third Degree) Burn1
  • Scar Tissue1
  • Superficial (First Degree) Burn1

Recent adverse event reports

The 3 most recent of 3 reports, in the reporter's own words as published by the FDA.

  • InjuryJul 2, 2024Insufficient Device Problem Information; Insufficient Device Problem Information

    ON 12 JUNE 2024, CUTERA RECEIVED PHOTOGRAPHIC EVIDENCE OF A PARTIAL THICKNESS DERMAL BURN LOCATED ON THE PATIENT'S RIGHT LOWER ARM. THIS INJURY IS REPORTED TO HAVE OCCURRED SUBSEQUENT TO A LIMELIGHT PROCEDURE THAT WAS PERFORMED IN (B)(6) 2023. THE CLINIC HAS MULTIPLE LIMELIGHT HANDPIECES IN ITS INVENTORY AND IS CURRENTLY UNABLE TO PROVIDE THE SERIAL NUMBER OF THE HANDPIECE UTILIZED DURING THE PROCEDURE. THE CLINIC REPORTED THAT THE LIMELIGHT HANDPIECE WAS RETURNED TO CUTERA; HOWEVER, THERE IS NO RECORD OF A LIMELIGHT HANDPIECE BEING RETURNED TO CUTERA FROM THIS ACCOUNT AFTER DECEMBER 2023. AT THIS TIME, CUTERA IS AWAITING FURTHER DETAILS PERTAINING TO THE PATIENT, THE EXACT NATURE OF THE TREATMENT PERFORMED, AND THE RESOLUTION OF THE BURN INJURY. THIS INFORMATION IS PENDING AS CUTERA IS IN THE PROCESS OF OBTAINING THESE DETAILS FROM THE CLINIC.

    Patient problems: Partial thickness (Second Degree) Burn

    MAUDE report 19660718 ↗
  • InjuryJul 1, 2024Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem; Insufficient Device Problem Information; Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem; Insufficient Device Problem Information

    THIS IS A FOLLOW-UP TO THE INITIAL EMDR FILED ON 01-JUL-2024. AS REPORTED INITIALLY, THE LIMELIGHT PULSED LIGHT HANDPIECE WAS UTILIZED IN A MEDICAL PROCEDURE ON (B)(6) 2024 TO TREAT THE ANTERIOR ASPECTS OF BOTH THE UPPER AND LOWER LEGS, BILATERALLY. THE PRIMARY OBJECTIVE OF THIS INTERVENTION WAS THE MITIGATION OF BENIGN PIGMENTED LESIONS. POST PROCEDURE, THE PATIENT EXHIBITED SYMPTOMS OF SUPERFICIAL EPIDERMAL AND SUPERFICIAL PARTIAL THICKNESS BURNS. THE DERMAL INJURIES WERE TREATED WITH STEM CELL TREATMENT, IN CONJUNCTION WITH THE APPLICATION OF TOPICAL OINTMENTS EUCERIN AND AQUAPHOR. THE MEDICAL INSTITUTION HAS NOT RESPONDED TO CUTERA'S REQUESTS FOR SPECIFIC DETAILS PERTAINING TO THE PATIENT, THE TREATMENT PROTOCOL, AND THE SUBSEQUENT OUTCOME. SINCE THE INITIAL EMDR, THE DEVICE WAS EVALUATED BY A CUTERA FSE AND WAS FOUND TO BE WITHIN SPECIFICATION.

    Patient problems: Partial thickness (Second Degree) Burn; Superficial (First Degree) Burn

    MAUDE report 19652586 ↗
  • InjuryApr 29, 2024Improper or Incorrect Procedure or Method; Improper or Incorrect Procedure or Method

    INCIDENT REPORT: BURN FOLLOWING LIMELIGHT PROCEDURE SOURCE: CLINIC IN JAPAN. PATIENT INFORMATION: ADULT FEMALE. BURN DIMENSIONS: 3 CM X 1 CM. BURN CARE: INFORMATION NOT PROVIDED. BURN OUTCOME: BURN HEALED BY EPIDERMAL REGENERATION RESULTING IN A DEPRESSED SCAR (3 CM X 1 CM). AFFECTED AREA: FACE. PROCEDURE: LIMELIGHT. INDICATION FOR TREATMENT: NOT PROVIDED. PATIENT AGE: NOT SPECIFIED. PROCEDURE DATE: NOT SPECIFIED. THE CLINIC REPORTED AN ADVERSE EVENT IN WHICH THE PATIENT EXPERIENCED A BURN ON THE FACE AFTER UNDERGOING A LIMELIGHT PROCEDURE. FURTHER DETAILS REGARDING THE INDICATION FOR TREATMENT, PATIENT AGE, AND PROCEDURE DATE WERE NOT PROVIDED BY THE CLINIC. THERE IS NOT A DEVICE PERFORMANCE COMPLAINT ASSOCIATED WITH THE CLINICAL CASE. THE PATIENT UNDERWENT A SERIES OF 90 ENERGY PULSES DIRECTED AT THE FACIAL AREA. A BURN OCCURRED FOLLOWING A SINGLE PULSE, RESULTING IN A BURN SHAPED LIKE THE COOLING/TREATMENT WINDOW. THIS SUGGESTS THAT THE OPERATOR MOMENTARILY LOST CONTACT BETWEEN THE SKIN AND THE COOLING/TREATMENT WINDOW DURING ENERGY DELIVERY. SUCH LOSS OF CONTACT COMPROMISES EFFECTIVE COOLING OF THE UNDERLYING TISSUE DURING ENERGY ADMINISTRATION.

    Patient problems: Full thickness (Third Degree) Burn; Scar Tissue

    MAUDE report 19209963 ↗

Other Powered Laser Surgical Instrument devices

All Powered Laser Surgical Instrument devices →

Sources: FDA GUDID, MAUDE and Medical Device Recalls via openFDA. openFDA data is not validated for clinical or regulatory use.