KINCISE™ 1002-00-102Recalls & reported problems
Synthes GmbH · KINCISE RECHARGEABLE LI-ION BATTERY · Class 1
All models of KINCISE (16)
Data updated Oct 18, 2026 from official FDA records · Editorial policy
- Adverse event reports
- 4
- Deaths reported
- 0
- Injuries reported
- 0
- Recalls naming it
- 0
Summary
The FDA's MAUDE database contains 4 adverse event reports that list this exact device (DI 00845384018537), received between Jan 7, 2022 and Mar 9, 2026 — classified as 4 malfunctions.
The most frequently reported specific device problem is “Electrical /Electronic Property Problem” (2 reports).
Reports come from manufacturers, hospitals and patients and are not verified by the FDA. A report does not prove the device caused the event, and counts can't be used to compare devices or estimate failure rates. What reports can and can't tell you · How this data works · Data updated Oct 18, 2026.
Reports received per month
Most reported problems
Device problems
- Electrical /Electronic Property Problem2
- Appropriate Device Problem Term/Code Not Available1
- Corroded1
- Leak/Splash1
- Material Fragmentation1
Patient problems
- No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions4
Recent adverse event reports
The 4 most recent of 4 reports, in the reporter's own words as published by the FDA.
MalfunctionMar 9, 2026Leak/Splash
IT WAS REPORTED THAT DURING CLEANING, IT WAS OBSERVED THAT THE KINCISE RECHARGEABLE LI-ION BATTERY DEVICE - THE BATTERY WAS LEAKING BATTERY FLUID. THE EVENT DID NOT OCCUR DURING SURGERY. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION, OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 24546153 ↗MalfunctionOct 25, 2024Material Fragmentation; Material Fragmentation
IT WAS REPORTED THAT THE KINCISE DEVICE WAS BROKEN. IT WAS NOT REPORTED IF THE DEVICE WAS USED IN SURGERY, OR IF THERE WAS PATIENT INVOLVEMENT. IT WAS NOT REPORTED IF THERE WERE ANY DELAYS IN THE SURGICAL PROCEDURE, OR IF A SPARE DEVICE WAS AVAILABLE FOR USE. IT WAS NOT REPORTED IF THERE WERE ANY INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED. IF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION SHOULD BECOME AVAILABLE, A SUPPLEMENTAL MEDWATCH WILL BE SUBMITTED ACCORDINGLY.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 20532068 ↗MalfunctionJul 26, 2024Corroded; Electrical /Electronic Property Problem; Corroded; Electrical /Electronic Property Problem
IT WAS REPORTED THAT AFTER A SURGICAL PROCEDURE THE KINCISE DEVICE HAD CORROSION BUILD-UP IN ONE OF THE CHARGING BLADES OF THE BATTERY PACK THAT CAUSED IT TO SHORT OUT. THE CYCLE COUNT IS 010. THIS EVENT DID NOT OCCUR DURING SURGERY. THERE WAS NO PATIENT INVOLVEMENT. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED. IF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION SHOULD BECOME AVAILABLE, A SUPPLEMENTAL MEDWATCH WILL BE SUBMITTED ACCORDINGLY.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 19839449 ↗MalfunctionJan 7, 2022Electrical /Electronic Property Problem; Appropriate Device Problem Term/Code Not Available; Electrical /Electronic Property Problem; Appropriate Device Problem Term/Code Not Available
IT WAS REPORTED THAT DURING AN UNSPECIFIED SURGICAL PROCEDURE, WHILE USING THE IMPACTOR DEVICE IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE BATTERY DEVICE WAS NOT FUNCTIONING PROPERLY. IT WAS SHORTING OUT WHILE PULLING THE TRIGGER. IT WAS FURTHER REPORTED THAT WHILE EXTRACTING THE FEMORAL HEAD, THE T-HANDLE DEVICE CRACKED ON THE WHITE HANDLE WHERE THE SURGEON GRABS ONTO. ACCORDING TO THE REPORTER, THE SURGEON WAS USING A MALLET ON THE T-HANDLE AND THE WHITE PART CRACKED. IT WAS REPORTED THAT NOTHING BROKE OFF FROM THE INSTRUMENT. IT WAS REPORTED THAT THERE WERE NO DELAYS IN THE SURGICAL PROCEDURE. IT WAS NOT REPORTED IF A SPARE DEVICE WAS AVAILABLE FOR USE. THERE WAS PATIENT INVOLVEMENT REPORTED. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED. IF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION SHOULD BECOME AVAILABLE, A SUPPLEMENTAL MEDWATCH REPORT WILL BE SUBMITTED ACCORDINGLY.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 13190832 ↗
Other MOTOR, SURGICAL INSTRUMENT, AC-POWERED devices
- NA 05.001.201Synthes GmbH · MOTOR, SURGICAL INSTRUMENT, AC-POWERED1,902 reports
- NA 530.710Synthes GmbH · MOTOR, SURGICAL INSTRUMENT, AC-POWERED1,800 reports
- NA 530.705Synthes GmbH · MOTOR, SURGICAL INSTRUMENT, AC-POWERED1,492 reports
- NA 530.715Synthes GmbH · MOTOR, SURGICAL INSTRUMENT, AC-POWERED390 reports
- NA 530.730Synthes GmbH · MOTOR, SURGICAL INSTRUMENT, AC-POWERED267 reports
- NA 05.001.240Synthes GmbH · MOTOR, SURGICAL INSTRUMENT, AC-POWERED262 reports
- KINCISE™ 1000-00-101Synthes GmbH · MOTOR, SURGICAL INSTRUMENT, AC-POWERED242 reports
- NA 530.791Synthes GmbH · MOTOR, SURGICAL INSTRUMENT, AC-POWERED84 reports
Sources and updates
- Device record: FDA GUDID, file dated Oct 13, 2026 · View this device in AccessGUDID ↗
- Adverse event reports: FDA MAUDE, file dated Oct 14, 2026 · each report above links to its original FDA record
- Recalls: FDA Medical Device Recalls, file dated Oct 16, 2026
- Page last rebuilt: Oct 18, 2026. Data downloaded through openFDA, which notes it is not validated for clinical or regulatory use.
How reports and recalls are matched · Editorial policy · Report an error on this page