Skip to content

Optetrak 204-01-04Recalls & reported problems

Exactech, Inc. · Class 2 · Implant

All models of Optetrak (336)

Data updated Oct 16, 2026 from official FDA records · Editorial policy

Adverse event reports
18
Deaths reported
0
Injuries reported
18
Recalls naming it
0

Summary

The FDA's MAUDE database contains 18 adverse event reports that list this exact device (DI 10885862047595), received between Feb 12, 2020 and May 6, 2026 — classified as 18 injuries.

The most frequently reported specific device problem is “Loosening of Implant Not Related to Bone-Ingrowth” (9 reports).

2 other recalls cover devices cleared under the same FDA submission (K933494); they may or may not involve this specific model.

Reports come from manufacturers, hospitals and patients and are not verified by the FDA. A report does not prove the device caused the event, and counts can't be used to compare devices or estimate failure rates. What reports can and can't tell you · How this data works · Data updated Oct 16, 2026.

Reports received per month

Nov 2023: 0 reportsDec 2023: 0 reportsJan 2024: 0 reportsFeb 2024: 0 reportsMar 2024: 0 reportsApr 2024: 0 reportsMay 2024: 0 reportsJun 2024: 0 reportsJul 2024: 0 reportsAug 2024: 0 reportsSep 2024: 0 reportsOct 2024: 0 reportsNov 2024: 0 reportsDec 2024: 0 reportsJan 2025: 0 reportsFeb 2025: 0 reportsMar 2025: 0 reportsApr 2025: 0 reportsMay 2025: 0 reportsJun 2025: 0 reportsJul 2025: 0 reportsAug 2025: 0 reportsSep 2025: 0 reportsOct 2025: 0 reportsNov 2025: 1 reportsDec 2025: 0 reportsJan 2026: 0 reportsFeb 2026: 0 reportsMar 2026: 0 reportsApr 2026: 0 reportsMay 2026: 1 reportsJun 2026: 0 reportsJul 2026: 0 reportsAug 2026: 0 reportsSep 2026: 0 reportsOct 2026: 0 reports2024202520261
Last 36 months. The most recent month may be incomplete.

Most reported problems

Device problems

  • Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem10
  • Loosening of Implant Not Related to Bone-Ingrowth9
  • Naturally Worn4
  • Unstable2
  • Degraded1
  • Device Dislodged or Dislocated1
  • Lack of Effect1

Patient problems

  • Failure of Implant10
  • Bacterial Infection3
  • Unspecified Infection3
  • Joint Laxity2
  • Pain2
  • Abdominal Pain1
  • Ambulation or Postural Difficulties1
  • Fibrosis1

Recent adverse event reports

The 18 most recent of 18 reports, in the reporter's own words as published by the FDA.

  • InjuryMay 6, 2026Unstable; Loosening of Implant Not Related to Bone-Ingrowth

    REPORT #2 OF 2 FOR THIS EVENT. IT WAS REPORTED A PATIENT UNDERWENT AN INITIAL RIGHT TOTAL KNEE ARTHROPLASTY. SUBSEQUENTLY, APPROXIMATELY ELEVEN (11) YEARS LATER, THE PATIENT EXPERIENCED POPPING, LOCKING UP, PAIN SWELLING, INSTABILITY AND AN INABILITY TO BEAR WEIGHT ON THE RIGHT KNEE. AS A RESULT, THE PATIENT UNDERWENT A RIGHT KNEE REVISION PROCEDURE. A REVISION OPERATIVE REPORT WAS PROVIDED. OPERATIVE FINDINGS NOTED THE POLYETHYLENE TIBIAL COMPONENT HAS FRACTURED AND HAD DELAMINATION OF THE BEARING SURFACE. THERE WAS NO EVIDENCE OF INFECTION. THE FEMORAL WAS REMOVED WITHOUT BONE LOSS. THE PATIENT TOLERATED THE PROCEDURE WELL AND ARRIVED IN THE RECOVERY ROOM IN STABLE CONDITION. ADDITIONALLY, IT WAS REPORTED VIA LEGAL DOCUMENTATION THE PATIENT CONTINUES TO EXPERIENCE PROLONGED AND LASTING PAIN AND SUFFERING. NO ADDITIONAL INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE.

    Patient problems: Abdominal Pain; Ambulation or Postural Difficulties; Joint Laxity; Joint locking; Swelling/ Edema

    MAUDE report 25094236 ↗
  • InjuryNov 14, 2025Unstable; Loosening of Implant Not Related to Bone-Ingrowth; Lack of Effect; Unstable; Loosening of Implant Not Related to Bone-Ingrowth; Lack of Effect

    IT WAS REPORTED THAT APPROXIMATELY 214 MONTHS AFTER A LEFT TOTAL KNEE REPLACEMENT PROCEDURE, THE PATIENT UNDERWENT A REVISION PROCEDURE TO ADDRESS PROSTHESIS WEAR. REVISION SURGERY OPERATIVE NOTES WERE PROVIDED. PATIENT LEFT THE OPERATING ROOM IN STABLE CONDITION. NO FURTHER ISSUES OR COMPLICATIONS WERE REPORTED. ADDITIONAL INFORMATION RECEIVED FROM THE OPERATIVE REPORT NOTED THAT THE PRE-OP DIAGNOSIS WAS FIBROSIS OF THE LEFT KNEE JOINT. THERE WAS SIGNIFICANT EFFUSION AND SYNOVITIS. NO PURULENCE. FLUID AND TISSUE CULTURES WERE SENT. THERE WAS NO EVIDENCE OF PROSTHESIS LOOSENING. THE POLYETHYLENE WAS REMOVED. THE FEMORAL COMPONENT WAS REMOVED WITHOUT ANY SIGNIFICANT BONE LOSS. THE TIBIAL COMPONENT WAS REMOVED WITHOUT SIGNIFICANT BONE LOSS. THE PATELLA WAS CAREFULLY INSPECTED. IT WAS WELL FIXED WITH NO WEAR. REMOVAL OF THE BUTTON WOULD NOT HAVE ALLOWED FOR PLACEMENT OF ANOTHER PATELLAR BUTTON, THEREFORE, IT WAS LEFT IN PLACE. THERE WAS A METAPHYSEAL VOID IN THE TIBIAL CANAL THAT REQUIRED A CONE AND THIS WAS PREPARED IN THE STANDARD FASHION. AUGMENTS WERE PLACED IN THE FEMUR IN ORDER TO ENSURE GOOD PROSTHETIC BONE CONTACT AND PROPER ROTATION AND JOINT LINE RESTORATION. SURFACES WERE C

    Patient problems: Fibrosis; Joint Laxity; Joint effusion; Loss of Range of Motion; Synovitis

    MAUDE report 23554123 ↗
  • InjuryDec 15, 2020Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem; Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem

    IT WAS REPORTED THAT A (B)(6) PATIENT AT (B)(6) EXPERIENCED A KNEE REVISION SURGERY ON (B)(6) 2017, DUE TO OSTEOLYSIS. INITIAL SURGERY DATE WAS (B)(6) 2004. THE SIDE OF SURGERY WAS NOT REPORTED. NO ADDITIONAL INFORMATION ABOUT THE EVENT OR PATIENT HAS BEEN PROVIDED.

    Patient problems: Osteolysis

    MAUDE report 11009310 ↗
  • InjuryDec 4, 2020Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem; Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem

    IT WAS REPORTED THAT A PATIENT EXPERIENCED A LEFT KNEE REVISION SURGERY ON (B)(6) 2015, DUE TO INFECTION. INITIAL SURGERY DATE WAS (B)(6) 2006. NO ADDITIONAL INFORMATION ABOUT THE EVENT OR PATIENT HAS BEEN PROVIDED.

    Patient problems: Unspecified Infection

    MAUDE report 10946413 ↗
  • InjuryNov 9, 2020Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem; Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem

    IT WAS REPORTED THAT A PATIENT EXPERIENCED A RIGHT KNEE REVISION SURGERY ON (B)(6) 2013, DUE TO INFECTION. INITIAL SURGERY DATE WAS (B)(6) 2006. NO ADDITIONAL INFORMATION ABOUT THE EVENT OR PATIENT HAS BEEN PROVIDED.

    Patient problems: Unspecified Infection

    MAUDE report 10808417 ↗
  • InjuryNov 2, 2020Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem; Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem

    IT WAS REPORTED THAT A PATIENT EXPERIENCED A LEFT KNEE REVISION SURGERY ON (B)(6) 2013, DUE TO INFECTION. INITIAL SURGERY DATE WAS (B)(6) 2004. NO ADDITIONAL INFORMATION ABOUT THE EVENT OR PATIENT HAS BEEN PROVIDED.

    Patient problems: Unspecified Infection

    MAUDE report 10775598 ↗
  • InjuryFeb 22, 2020Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem; Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem

    AS REPORTED BY UNITED KINGDOM NATIONAL JOINT REGISTRY (UKNJR), THIS (B)(6) Y/O, MALE PATIENT UNDERWENT PRIMARY TOTAL PROSTHETIC REPLACEMENT USING CEMENT OF THE RIGHT KNEE VIA MEDIAL PARAPATELLAR APPROACH ON (B)(6) 2005. THE INDICATION FOR THE INDEX PROCEDURE WAS OSTEOARTHRITIS. ON (B)(6) 2016, APPROXIMATELY 131 MONTHS POST IMPLANTATION, THE PATIENT UNDERWENT REVISION DUE TO INSTABILITY AND PAIN. FOLLOW-UPS FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION CANNOT BE PERFORMED FOR THIS COMPLAINT, INFORMATION WAS SUBMITTED AS COMPLETE BY THE UNITED KINGDOM NATIONAL JOINT REGISTRY (UKNJR); THERE IS NO IDENTIFICATION OF FACILITIES OR SURGEONS. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION ABOUT THE EVENT AND/OR PATIENT HAS BEEN PROVIDED. THESE DEVICES ARE USED FOR TREATMENT NOT DIAGNOSIS. BASED ON REVIEW OF ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION, THERE IS NO EVIDENCE TO SUGGEST THAT THE REPORTED EVENT IS RELATED TO ANY DEVICE DESIGN OR MANUFACTURING ISSUES. THE EVENT REPORTED WAS LIKELY THE RESULT OF PATIENT CONDITIONS. THERE HAS BEEN NO PATIENT MEDICAL HISTORY/INFORMATION PROVIDED; THEREFORE, THE PATIENT RISK/CLINICAL FACTORS CANNOT BE ASSESSED.

    Patient problems: Failure of Implant; Pain

    MAUDE report 9742642 ↗
  • InjuryFeb 14, 2020Naturally Worn; Loosening of Implant Not Related to Bone-Ingrowth; Naturally Worn; Loosening of Implant Not Related to Bone-Ingrowth

    AS REPORTED BY UNITED KINGDOM NATIONAL JOINT REGISTRY (UKNJR), THIS (B)(6) Y/O, 170 CM, (B)(6) KG (BMI=36), MALE PATIENT UNDERWENT PRIMARY TOTAL PROSTHETIC REPLACEMENT USING CEMENT OF THE LEFT KNEE VIA MEDIAL PARAPATELLAR APPROACH ON (B)(6) 2009. THE INDICATION FOR THE INDEX PROCEDURE WAS OSTEOARTHRITIS. THE PATIENT WAS IMPLANTED WITH A OPTETRAK KNEE SYSTEM - CEMENTED POSTERIOR STABILISED (PS) FEMORAL COMPONENT - SIZE 4 (CATALOG 204-01-04, SERIAL (B)(4), OPTETRAK KNEE SYSTEM - CEMENTED FINNED TIBIAL TRAY - SIZE 4F/4T (CATALOG 200-04-44, SERIAL (B)(4), OPTETRAK KNEE SYSTEM - POSTERIOR STABILISED (PS) TIBIAL INSERT - SIZE 4 - 11MM (CATALOG 204-24-11, SERIAL (B)(4) OPTETRAK KNEE SYSTEM - THREE PEGS PATELLA - DIAMETER 32MM (CATALOG 200-02-32, SERIAL (B)(4) AND HERAEUS MEDICAL ANTIBIOTIC LOADED HIGH VISCOSITY BONE CEMENT (CATALOG 66017569, SERIAL (B)(4). ON (B)(6) 2018, APPROXIMATELY 108 MONTHS POST IMPLANTATION, THE PATIENT UNDERWENT REVISION DUE TO ASEPTIC LOOSENING FEMUR; ASEPTIC LOOSENING TIBIA; WEAR OF POLYETHYLENE COMPONENT. THE EXACTECH KNEE BRAND REMOVED UNAVAILABLE AND REPLACED WITH NEXGEN ROTATING HINGE FEMORAL E LEFT, ROTATING HINGE KNEE PRECOAT TIBIAL PLATE SIZE 4, ARTICULAR

    Patient problems: Failure of Implant

    MAUDE report 9711424 ↗
  • InjuryFeb 14, 2020Naturally Worn; Loosening of Implant Not Related to Bone-Ingrowth; Naturally Worn; Loosening of Implant Not Related to Bone-Ingrowth

    AS REPORTED BY (B)(6) NATIONAL JOINT REGISTRY (UKNJR), THIS 51 Y/O, 179 CM, 87 KG (BMI=27), MALE PATIENT UNDERWENT PRIMARY TOTAL PROSTHETIC REPLACEMENT USING CEMENT OF THE LEFT KNEE VIA MEDIAL PARAPATELLAR APPROACH ON (B)(6) 2009. THE INDICATION FOR THE INDEX PROCEDURE WAS OSTEOARTHRITIS. THE PATIENT WAS IMPLANTED WITH A OPTETRAK KNEE SYSTEM - CEMENTED POSTERIOR STABILISED (PS) FEMORAL COMPONENT - SIZE 4 (CATALOG 204-01-04, SERIAL (B)(4), OPTETRAK KNEE SYSTEM - CEMENTED FINNED TIBIAL TRAY - SIZE 4F/4T (CATALOG 200-04-44, SERIAL (B)(4), OPTETRAK KNEE SYSTEM - POSTERIOR STABILISED (PS) TIBIAL INSERT - SIZE 4 - 11MM (CATALOG 204-24-11, SERIAL (B)(4) AND HERAEUS MEDICAL ANTIBIOTIC LOADED HIGH VISCOSITY BONE CEMENT (CATALOG 66017569, SERIAL (B)(4). ON (B)(6) 2019, APPROXIMATELY 126 MONTHS POST IMPLANTATION, THE PATIENT UNDERWENT REVISION DUE TO ASEPTIC LOOSENING FEMUR; ASEPTIC LOOSENING TIBIA; WEAR OF POLYETHYLENE COMPONENT. THE EXACTECH FEMORAL COMPONENT REMOVED; TIBIAL COMPONENT REMOVED; TIBIAL LINER COMPONENT REMOVED AND REPLACED WITH EVOLUTION REVISION FEMORAL CCK SIZE 6 LEFT AND EVOLUTION MP CS INSERT SZ 6 STANDARD 10MM LEFT.

    Patient problems: Failure of Implant

    MAUDE report 9711358 ↗
  • InjuryFeb 14, 2020Degraded; Device Dislodged or Dislocated; Naturally Worn; Loosening of Implant Not Related to Bone-Ingrowth; Degraded; Device Dislodged or Dislocated; Naturally Worn; Loosening of Implant Not Related to Bone-Ingrowth

    AS REPORTED BY UNITED KINGDOM NATIONAL JOINT REGISTRY (UKNJR), THIS (B)(6) Y/O, 177 CM, (B)(6) KG (BMI=31), MALE PATIENT UNDERWENT PRIMARY TOTAL PROSTHETIC REPLACEMENT USING CEMENT OF THE RIGHT KNEE VIA MEDIAL PARAPATELLAR APPROACH ON (B)(6) 2010. THE INDICATION FOR THE INDEX PROCEDURE WAS OSTEOARTHRITIS. THE PATIENT WAS IMPLANTED WITH A OPTETRAK KNEE SYSTEM - CEMENTED POSTERIOR STABILISED (PS) FEMORAL COMPONENT - SIZE 4 (CATALOG 204-01-04, SERIAL (B)(4)), OPTETRAK KNEE SYSTEM - CEMENTED FINNED TIBIAL TRAY - SIZE 4F/4T (CATALOG 200-04-44, SERIAL (B)(4)), OPTETRAK KNEE SYSTEM - POSTERIOR STABILISED (PS) TIBIAL INSERT - SIZE 4 - 11MM (CATALOG 204-24-11, SERIAL (B)(4)), OPTETRAK KNEE SYSTEM - THREE PEGS PATELLA - DIAMETER 32MM (CATALOG 200-02-32, SERIAL (B)(4)) AND HERAEUS MEDICAL ANTIBIOTIC LOADED HIGH VISCOSITY BONE CEMENT (CATALOG 66017569, SERIAL (B)(4)). ON (B)(6) 2016, APPROXIMATELY 73 MONTHS POST IMPLANTATION, THE PATIENT UNDERWENT REVISION DUE TO ASEPTIC LOOSENING FEMUR; ASEPTIC LOOSENING TIBIA; MALALIGNMENT; WEAR OF POLYETHYLENE COMPONENT. THE EXACTECH WERE REMOVED AND REPLACED.

    Patient problems: Failure of Implant; No Code Available

    MAUDE report 9711289 ↗
  • InjuryFeb 14, 2020Loosening of Implant Not Related to Bone-Ingrowth; Loosening of Implant Not Related to Bone-Ingrowth

    AS REPORTED BY (B)(6), THIS (B)(6) Y/O, 175 CM, (B)(6) (BMI=27), MALE PATIENT UNDERWENT PRIMARY TOTAL PROSTHETIC REPLACEMENT USING CEMENT OF THE RIGHT KNEE VIA MEDIAL PARAPATELLAR APPROACH ON (B)(6) 2007. THE INDICATION FOR THE INDEX PROCEDURE WAS OSTEOARTHRITIS. ON (B)(6) 2014, APPROXIMATELY 86 MONTHS POST IMPLANTATION, THE PATIENT UNDERWENT REVISION DUE TO ASEPTIC LOOSENING OF THE TIBIA. THE FOLLOW-UPS FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION CANNOT BE PERFORMED FOR THIS COMPLAINT, INFORMATION WAS SUBMITTED AS COMPLETE BY THE (B)(6); THERE IS NO IDENTIFICATION OF FACILITIES OR SURGEONS. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION ABOUT THE EVENT AND/OR PATIENT HAS BEEN PROVIDED. THESE DEVICES ARE USED FOR TREATMENT NOT DIAGNOSIS. IT IS FOUND IN A REVIEW OF THE LABELING AND IFU 700-096-004, IT IS KNOWN THAT DEVICE SPECIFIC RISKS CONSIST OF: FRACTURE, MIGRATION, LOOSENING, SUBLUXATION, OR DISLOCATION OF THE PROTHESIS OR ANY OF ITS COMPONENTS, ANY OF WHICH MAY REQUIRE A SECOND SURGICAL INTERVENTION OR REVISION. AS PART OF THE PREOPERATIVE ASSESSMENT, THE SURGEON MUST ENSURE THAT NO BIOLOGICAL, BIOMECHANICAL, OR OTHER FACTORS EXIST THAT MIGHT ADVERSELY AFFECT THE SURGERY AND/OR POSTOPERATIVE PERIOD. REVISIONS OR SU

    Patient problems: Failure of Implant

    MAUDE report 9710018 ↗
  • InjuryFeb 13, 2020Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem; Loosening of Implant Not Related to Bone-Ingrowth; Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem; Loosening of Implant Not Related to Bone-Ingrowth

    AS REPORTED BY (B)(6), THIS (B)(6) Y/O, 151 CM, (B)(6) (BMI=44), MALE PATIENT UNDERWENT PRIMARY TOTAL PROSTHETIC REPLACEMENT USING CEMENT OF THE RIGHT KNEE VIA MEDIAL PARAPATELLAR APPROACH ON (B)(6) 2006. THE INDICATION FOR THE INDEX PROCEDURE WAS OSTEOARTHRITIS. ON (B)(6) 2007, APPROXIMATELY 20 MONTHS POST IMPLANTATION, THE PATIENT UNDERWENT REVISION DUE TO ASEPTIC LOOSENING OF THE TIBIA AND INFECTION. FOLLOW-UPS FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION CANNOT BE PERFORMED FOR THIS COMPLAINT, INFORMATION WAS SUBMITTED AS COMPLETE BY THE (B)(6); THERE IS NO IDENTIFICATION OF FACILITIES OR SURGEONS. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION ABOUT THE EVENT AND/OR PATIENT HAS BEEN PROVIDED. THESE DEVICES ARE USED FOR TREATMENT NOT DIAGNOSIS. IT IS FOUND IN A REVIEW OF THE LABELING AND IFU 700-096-004, IT IS KNOWN THAT DEVICE SPECIFIC RISKS CONSIST OF: FRACTURE, MIGRATION, LOOSENING, SUBLUXATION, OR DISLOCATION OF THE PROTHESIS OR ANY OF ITS COMPONENTS, ANY OF WHICH MAY REQUIRE A SECOND SURGICAL INTERVENTION OR REVISION. SURGICAL RISK INCLUDES INFECTION. AS PART OF THE PREOPERATIVE ASSESSMENT, THE SURGEON MUST ENSURE THAT NO BIOLOGICAL, BIOMECHANICAL, OR OTHER FACTORS EXIST THAT MIGHT ADVERSELY AFFECT THE SURGERY

    Patient problems: Bacterial Infection; Failure of Implant

    MAUDE report 9709883 ↗
  • InjuryFeb 13, 2020Loosening of Implant Not Related to Bone-Ingrowth; Loosening of Implant Not Related to Bone-Ingrowth

    AS REPORTED BY (B)(6), THIS (B)(6) Y/O, 130 CM, (B)(6) (BMI=50), MALE PATIENT UNDERWENT PRIMARY TOTAL PROSTHETIC REPLACEMENT USING CEMENT OF THE LEFT KNEE VIA MEDIAL PARAPATELLAR APPROACH ON (B)(6) 2005. THE INDICATION FOR THE INDEX PROCEDURE WAS OSTEOARTHRITIS. ON (B)(6) 2006, APPROXIMATELY 6 MONTHS POST IMPLANTATION, THE PATIENT UNDERWENT REVISION DUE TO ASEPTIC LOOSENING TIBIA. THE FOLLOW-UPS FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION CANNOT BE PERFORMED FOR THIS COMPLAINT, INFORMATION WAS SUBMITTED AS COMPLETE BY THE (B)(6); THERE IS NO IDENTIFICATION OF FACILITIES OR SURGEONS. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION ABOUT THE EVENT AND/OR PATIENT HAS BEEN PROVIDED. THESE DEVICES ARE USED FOR TREATMENT NOT DIAGNOSIS. IT IS FOUND IN A REVIEW OF THE LABELING AND IFU 700-096-004, IT IS KNOWN THAT DEVICE SPECIFIC RISKS CONSIST OF: FRACTURE, MIGRATION, LOOSENING, SUBLUXATION, OR DISLOCATION OF THE PROTHESIS OR ANY OF ITS COMPONENTS, ANY OF WHICH MAY REQUIRE A SECOND SURGICAL INTERVENTION OR REVISION. AS PART OF THE PREOPERATIVE ASSESSMENT, THE SURGEON MUST ENSURE THAT NO BIOLOGICAL, BIOMECHANICAL, OR OTHER FACTORS EXIST THAT MIGHT ADVERSELY AFFECT THE SURGERY AND/OR POSTOPERATIVE PERIOD. REVISIONS OR SURGICAL IN

    Patient problems: Failure of Implant

    MAUDE report 9709841 ↗
  • InjuryFeb 13, 2020Naturally Worn; Naturally Worn

    AS REPORTED BY (B)(6), THIS (B)(6) Y/O (BMI=28), MALE PATIENT UNDERWENT PRIMARY TOTAL PROSTHETIC REPLACEMENT USING CEMENT OF THE LEFT KNEE VIA MEDIAL PARAPATELLAR APPROACH ON (B)(6) 2008. THE INDICATION FOR THE INDEX PROCEDURE WAS OSTEOARTHRITIS. ON (B)(6) 2014, APPROXIMATELY 63 MONTHS POST IMPLANTATION, THE PATIENT UNDERWENT REVISION DUE TO INSTABILITY, WEAR OF POLYETHYLENE COMPONENT, AND PROGRESSIVE ARTHRITIS. THE FOLLOW-UPS FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION CANNOT BE PERFORMED FOR THIS COMPLAINT, INFORMATION WAS SUBMITTED AS COMPLETE BY THE (B)(6); THERE IS NO IDENTIFICATION OF FACILITIES OR SURGEONS. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION ABOUT THE EVENT AND/OR PATIENT HAS BEEN PROVIDED. THESE DEVICES ARE USED FOR TREATMENT NOT DIAGNOSIS. TOTAL KNEE REPLACEMENT INSTABILITY IS NOTED TO OCCUR DUE TO SURGICAL TECHNIQUES OF CREATING EXCESSIVE FLEXION GAPS, INADEQUATE FILLING OF THE EXTENSION SPACE DUE TO THE COMPONENTS NOT BEING THICK ENOUGH, SOFT TISSUE/LIGAMENT DAMAGE, AND/OR INJURY INCURRED DURING POST-OP REHABILITATION THERAPY. MUSCULOSKELETAL KEY, (2018, (B)(6)). TREATMENT OF INSTABILITY AFTER TOTAL KNEE REPLACEMENT; ELECTRONIC SOURCE.

    Patient problems: Failure of Implant

    MAUDE report 9709788 ↗
  • InjuryFeb 13, 2020Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem; Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem

    AS REPORTED BY UNITED KINGDOM NATIONAL JOINT REGISTRY (UKNJR), A (B)(6) Y/O, 184 CM, (B)(6) KG (BMI=(B)(6)), MALE PATIENT UNDERWENT PRIMARY TOTAL PROSTHETIC REPLACEMENT OF THE RIGHT KNEE ON (B)(6) 2006. THE INDICATION FOR THE INDEX PROCEDURE WAS OSTEOARTHRITIS. ON (B)(6) 2018, APPROXIMATELY 142 MONTHS POST IMPLANTATION, THE PATIENT UNDERWENT REVISION DUE TO INFECTION. FOLLOW-UPS FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION CANNOT BE PERFORMED FOR THIS COMPLAINT, INFORMATION WAS SUBMITTED AS COMPLETE BY THE UNITED KINGDOM NATIONAL JOINT REGISTRY (UKNJR); THERE IS NO IDENTIFICATION OF FACILITIES OR SURGEONS. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION ABOUT THE EVENT AND/OR PATIENT HAS BEEN PROVIDED. THESE DEVICES ARE USED FOR TREATMENT NOT DIAGNOSIS. BASED ON REVIEW OF ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION, THERE IS NO EVIDENCE TO SUGGEST THAT THE REPORTED EVENT IS RELATED TO ANY DEVICE DESIGN OR MANUFACTURING ISSUES. THE EVENT REPORTED WAS LIKELY THE RESULT OF PATIENT CONDITIONS. THERE HAS BEEN NO PATIENT MEDICAL HISTORY/INFORMATION PROVIDED; THEREFORE, THE PATIENT RISK/CLINICAL FACTORS CANNOT BE ASSESSED.

    Patient problems: Bacterial Infection

    MAUDE report 9707816 ↗
  • InjuryFeb 13, 2020Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem; Loosening of Implant Not Related to Bone-Ingrowth; Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem; Loosening of Implant Not Related to Bone-Ingrowth

    AS REPORTED BY (B)(6), THIS (B)(6), 165 CM, (B)(6) (BMI=48), MALE PATIENT UNDERWENT PRIMARY TOTAL PROSTHETIC REPLACEMENT USING CEMENT OF THE LEFT KNEE VIA MEDIAL PARAPATELLAR APPROACH ON (B)(6) 2005. THE INDICATION FOR THE INDEX PROCEDURE WAS OSTEOARTHRITIS. ON (B)(6) 2005, APPROXIMATELY 3 MONTHS POST IMPLANTATION, THE PATIENT UNDERWENT REVISION DUE TO ASEPTIC LOOSENING FEMUR, ASEPTIC LOOSENING TIBIA, AND INFECTION. FOLLOW-UPS FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION CANNOT BE PERFORMED FOR THIS COMPLAINT, INFORMATION WAS SUBMITTED AS COMPLETE BY (B)(6); THERE IS NO IDENTIFICATION OF FACILITIES OR SURGEONS. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION ABOUT THE EVENT AND/OR PATIENT HAS BEEN PROVIDED. THESE DEVICES ARE USED FOR TREATMENT NOT DIAGNOSIS. INFECTION IS A CLINICALLY WELL-KNOWN POTENTIAL COMPLICATION OF ANY SURGICAL PROCEDURE INCLUDING KNEE ARTHROPLASTY. IF INFECTION OCCURS AFTER KNEE REPLACEMENT, WHETHER RELATED TO THE PROCEDURE OR OTHERWISE, THE FOREIGN METAL AND PLASTIC IMPLANTS CAN SERVE AS A SURFACE FOR THE BACTERIA TO LATCH ONTO, INACCESSIBLE TO ANTIBIOTICS. EVEN IF THE IMPLANTS REMAIN WELL FIXED, THE PAIN, SWELLING, AND DRAINAGE FROM THE INFECTION MAKE THE REVISION SURGERY NECESSARY. WITH CURRENT

    Patient problems: Bacterial Infection; Failure of Implant

    MAUDE report 9707411 ↗
  • InjuryFeb 12, 2020Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem; Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem

    AS REPORTED BYUNITED KINGDOM NATIONAL JOINT REGISTRY (UKNJR), THIS (B)(6) Y/O 170 CM, (B)(6) KG(BMI=23), FEMALE PATIENT UNDERWENT PRIMARY TOTAL PROSTHETIC REPLACEMENT USING CEMENT OF THE RIGHT KNEE VIA MEDIAL PARAPATELLAR APPROACH ON (B)(6) 2006. THE INDICATION FOR THE INDEX PROCEDURE WAS OSTEOARTHRITIS. ON (B)(6) 2007, APPROXIMATELY 18 MONTHS POST IMPLANTATION, THE PATIENT UNDERWENT REVISION DUE TO PAIN. THE UNDERLYING CAUSE FOR PAIN WAS NOT REPORTED. FOLLOW-UPS FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION CANNOT BE PERFORMED FOR THIS COMPLAINT, INFORMATION WAS SUBMITTED AS COMPLETE BY THE UNITED KINGDOM NATIONAL JOINT REGISTRY (UKNJR); THERE IS NO IDENTIFICATION OF FACILITIES OR SURGEONS. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION ABOUT THE EVENT AND/OR PATIENT HAS BEEN PROVIDED. THESE DEVICES ARE USED FOR TREATMENT NOT DIAGNOSIS. BASED ON REVIEW OF ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION, THERE IS NO EVIDENCE TO SUGGEST THAT THE REPORTED EVENT IS RELATED TO ANY DEVICE DESIGN OR MANUFACTURING ISSUES. THE EVENT REPORTED WAS LIKELY THE RESULT OF PATIENT CONDITIONS. THERE HAS BEEN NO PATIENT MEDICAL HISTORY INFORMATION PROVIDED; THEREFORE, THE PATIENT RISK/CLINICAL FACTORS CANNOT BE ASSESSED.

    Patient problems: Pain

    MAUDE report 9702016 ↗
  • InjuryFeb 12, 2020Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem; Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem

    AS REPORTED BY UNITED KINGDOM NATIONAL JOINT REGISTRY (UKNJR), THIS (B)(6) Y/O, 176 CM, (B)(6) KG (BMI=(B)(6)), MALE PATIENT UNDERWENT PRIMARY TOTAL PROSTHETIC REPLACEMENT USING CEMENT OF THE RIGHT KNEE VIA MEDIAL PARAPATELLAR APPROACH ON (B)(6) 2011. THE INDICATION FOR THE INDEX PROCEDURE WAS OSTEOARTHRITIS. ON (B)(6) 2019, APPROXIMATELY 90 MONTHS POST IMPLANTATION, THE PATIENT UNDERWENT REVISION DUE TO INSTABILITY. FOLLOW-UPS FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION CANNOT BE PERFORMED FOR THIS COMPLAINT, INFORMATION WAS SUBMITTED AS COMPLETE BY THE UNITED KINGDOM NATIONAL JOINT REGISTRY (UKNJR); THERE IS NO IDENTIFICATION OF FACILITIES OR SURGEONS. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION ABOUT THE EVENT AND/OR PATIENT HAS BEEN PROVIDED. THESE DEVICES ARE USED FOR TREATMENT NOT DIAGNOSIS. BASED ON REVIEW OF ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION, THERE IS NO EVIDENCE TO SUGGEST THAT THE REPORTED EVENT IS RELATED TO ANY DEVICE DESIGN OR MANUFACTURING ISSUES. THE EVENT REPORTED WAS LIKELY THE RESULT OF PATIENT CONDITIONS. THERE HAS BEEN NO PATIENT MEDICAL HISTORY/INFORMATION PROVIDED; THEREFORE, THE PATIENT RISK/CLINICAL FACTORS CANNOT BE ASSESSED.

    Patient problems: Failure of Implant

    MAUDE report 9701033 ↗

Recalls under the same FDA submission

These recalls involve devices cleared under K933494. One submission often covers many models, so check the product and lot details in each record.

  • Z-0019-2022 · Aug 30, 2021 · Open, Classified
    OPTETRAK Comprehensive Knee System, labeled as the following: a. OPTETRAK All-polyethylene CR Tibial Components, with Product Line Numbers: 200-11-XX, 200-12-XX, 200-13-XX, 200
  • Z-0522-2007 · Dec 7, 2006 · Terminated
    Polyethylene tibial posterior stabilized components. Optetrak All Poly Tibial PS Component. Knee prosthesis. Catalog number : 204-11-13

Other Prosthesis, Knee, Patellofemorotibial, Semi-Constrained, Cemented, Polymer/Metal/Polymer devices

All Prosthesis, Knee, Patellofemorotibial, Semi-Constrained, Cemented, Polymer/Metal/Polymer devices →

Sources and updates

How reports and recalls are matched · Editorial policy · Report an error on this page