NA 05.001.202Recalls & reported problems
Synthes GmbH · POWER MODULE FOR TRAUMA RECON SYSTEM · Class 1
Data updated Oct 18, 2026 from official FDA records · Editorial policy
Quick summary
This Synthes Trauma Recon power module has 262 adverse event reports, all of them malfunctions, with no injuries and no deaths. Reports mostly describe the module losing power or leaking liquid, and some describe the system moving unintentionally during use. There are no recalls that name this device.
AI-generated from the FDA records on this page and checked automatically against the numbers below. Read the details before relying on it.
- Adverse event reports
- 263
- Deaths reported
- 0
- Injuries reported
- 0
- Recalls naming it
- 0
Summary
The FDA's MAUDE database contains 263 adverse event reports that list this exact device (DI 10886982129635), received between Nov 22, 2017 and Sep 28, 2026 — classified as 263 malfunctions.
The most frequently reported specific device problem is “Complete Loss of Power” (122 reports).
Reports come from manufacturers, hospitals and patients and are not verified by the FDA. A report does not prove the device caused the event, and counts can't be used to compare devices or estimate failure rates. What reports can and can't tell you · How this data works · Data updated Oct 18, 2026.
Reports received per month
Most reported problems
Device problems
- Complete Loss of Power122
- Unintended System Motion69
- Leak/Splash53
- Fail-Safe Problem33
- Appropriate Device Problem Term/Code Not Available28
- Fluid/Blood Leak25
- Unexpected Shutdown15
- Fail-Safe Did Not Operate12
Patient problems
- No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions166
- No Consequences Or Impact To Patient82
- No Known Impact Or Consequence To Patient15
Recent adverse event reports
The 25 most recent of 263 reports, in the reporter's own words as published by the FDA.
MalfunctionSep 28, 2026Complete Loss of Power
It was reported that the POWER MODULE FOR TRAUMA RECON SYSTEM device stopped working while in use with 2X battery handpiece devices, the chuck with key device, the quick coupling device and the ao reamer device. The user did not know whether the system was working or not. It was not reported if the device was used in surgery. There were no reports of injuries, medical intervention or prolonged hospitalization. All available information has been disclosed.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 50920487 ↗MalfunctionSep 15, 2026Leak/Splash
It was reported that during service and evaluation, it was determined that the power module device was leaking liquid, had fluid ingress, and would not charge. It was further determined that the device failed pretest for Information button and Self-test, Charging and checking of Power module in universal battery charger (UBC II), and Check Liquid Indicator. There were no reports of injuries, medical intervention, or prolonged hospitalization. The exact date of the event was not reported; however, it was reported that the event occurred in 2026. All available information has been disclosed. If additional information should become available, a Supplemental MedWatch will be submitted accordingly.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 50772869 ↗MalfunctionAug 12, 2026Leak/Splash; Complete Loss of Power
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 50226567 ↗MalfunctionJul 9, 2026Leak/Splash; Complete Loss of Power
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 25761985 ↗MalfunctionJul 7, 2026Leak/Splash; Complete Loss of Power
IT WAS REPORTED THAT DURING SERVICE AND EVALUATION, IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE POWER MODULE FOR TRAUMA RECON SYSTEM DEVICE WAS LEAKING A LIQUID. IT WAS NOTED IN THE SERVICE ORDER THAT THE DEVICE DOES NOT WORK. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. THE EXACT DATE OF THE EVENT WAS UNKNOWN. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 25737130 ↗MalfunctionJul 6, 2026Leak/Splash; Output below Specifications
IT WAS REPORTED THAT DURING SERVICE AND EVALUATION, IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE POWER MODULE DEVICE HAD A LIQUID LEAK. IT WAS NOTED IN THE SERVICE ORDER THAT THE DEVICE HAD LOW POWER. THIS EVENT DID NOT OCCUR DURING SURGERY. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. THE EXACT DATE OF THE EVENT WAS UNKNOWN. HOWEVER, IT WAS REPORTED THAT THE EVENT OCCURRED IN 2026. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 25715752 ↗MalfunctionJul 1, 2026Leak/Splash
IT WAS REPORTED THAT DURING SERVICE AND EVALUATION, IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE POWER MODULE DEVICE HAD A LIQUID LEAK. IT WAS NOTED IN THE SERVICE ORDER THAT THE DEVICE HAD AN UNDETERMINED MALFUNCTION. THIS EVENT DID NOT OCCUR DURING SURGERY. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. THE EXACT DATE OF THE EVENT WAS UNKNOWN. HOWEVER, IT WAS REPORTED THAT THE EVENT OCCURRED IN 2026. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 25677579 ↗MalfunctionJun 3, 2026Leak/Splash; Complete Loss of Power
IT WAS REPORTED THAT DURING SERVICE AND EVALUATION, IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE POWER MODULE DEVICE HAD A LIQUID LEAK. IT WAS NOTED IN THE SERVICE ORDER THAT THE DEVICE DID NOT WORK. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 25377119 ↗MalfunctionMay 26, 2026Leak/Splash; Complete Loss of Power
IT WAS REPORTED THAT DURING SERVICE AND EVALUATION, IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE POWER MODULE FOR TRAUMA RECON SYSTEM DEVICE WAS LEAKING A LIQUID. IT WAS REPORTED IN THE SERVICE ORDER THAT THE DEVICE WAS NOT WORKING. IT WAS UNKNOWN WHEN THE EVENT OCCURRED. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF DELAYS TO A SURGICAL PROCEDURE. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 25279053 ↗MalfunctionMay 18, 2026Leak/Splash; Complete Loss of Power
IT WAS REPORTED THAT DURING SERVICE AND EVALUATION, IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE POWER MODULE FOR TRAUMA RECON SYSTEM DEVICE WAS LEAKING A LIQUID. IT WAS REPORTED IN THE SERVICE ORDER THAT THE DEVICE WAS NOT WORKING. IT WAS UNKNOWN WHEN THE EVENT OCCURRED. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF DELAYS TO A SURGICAL PROCEDURE. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 25200275 ↗MalfunctionApr 27, 2026Leak/Splash; Complete Loss of Power
IT WAS REPORTED THAT DURING SERVICE AND EVALUATION, IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE POWER MODULE DEVICE HAD A LIQUID LEAK. IT WAS NOTED IN THE SERVICE ORDER THAT THE DEVICE DID NOT WORK. THIS EVENT DID NOT OCCUR DURING SURGERY. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. THE EXACT DATE OF THE EVENT WAS UNKNOWN. HOWEVER, IT WAS REPORTED THAT THE EVENT OCCURRED IN 2026. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 24999659 ↗MalfunctionApr 13, 2026Leak/Splash; Complete Loss of Power
IT WAS REPORTED THAT DURING SERVICE AND EVALUATION, IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE POWER MODULE DEVICE HAD A LIQUID LEAK. IT WAS NOTED IN THE SERVICE ORDER THAT THE DEVICE DID NOT WORK. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. THE EXACT DATE OF THE EVENT WAS UNKNOWN. HOWEVER, IT WAS REPORTED THAT THE EVENT OCCURRED IN 2026. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 24860594 ↗MalfunctionApr 7, 2026Leak/Splash
IT WAS REPORTED THAT DURING SERVICE AND REPAIR PRE-TESTING, IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE POWER MODULE DEVICE HAD A LIQUID LEAK. THIS EVENT DID NOT OCCUR DURING SURGERY. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. THE EXACT DATE OF THE EVENT WAS UNKNOWN. HOWEVER, IT WAS REPORTED THAT THE EVENT OCCURRED IN 2026. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 24799474 ↗MalfunctionApr 7, 2026Leak/Splash
IT WAS REPORTED THAT DURING SERVICE AND REPAIR PRE-TESTING, IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE POWER MODULE DEVICE HAD A LIQUID LEAK. THIS EVENT DID NOT OCCUR DURING SURGERY. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. THE EXACT DATE OF THE EVENT WAS UNKNOWN. HOWEVER, IT WAS REPORTED THAT THE EVENT OCCURRED IN 2026. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 24799439 ↗MalfunctionMar 6, 2026Leak/Splash
IT WAS REPORTED THAT DURING SERVICE AND EVALUATION, IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE POWER MODULE DEVICE HAD A LIQUID LEAK. THIS EVENT DID NOT OCCUR DURING SURGERY. THERE WAS NO PATIENT INVOLVEMENT. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION, OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. THE EXACT DATE OF THE EVENT WAS UNKNOWN. HOWEVER, IT WAS REPORTED THAT THE EVENT OCCURRED IN 2026. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 24531609 ↗MalfunctionMar 6, 2026Fail-Safe Did Not Operate
IT WAS REPORTED THAT THE POWER MODULE FOR TRAUMA RECON SYSTEM DEVICE DISPLAYED AN LED WARNING LIGHT INDICATOR ERROR. IT WAS UNKNOWN WHEN THE EVENT OCCURRED. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. THE DATE OF EVENT WAS UNKNOWN BUT WAS KNOWN TO HAVE OCCURRED IN 2026. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 24531346 ↗MalfunctionMar 5, 2026Leak/Splash; Appropriate Device Problem Term/Code Not Available
IT WAS REPORTED THAT DURING SERVICE AND EVALUATION, IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE POWER MODULE DEVICE WAS LEAKING A LIQUID. IT WAS REPORTED IN THE SERVICE ORDER THAT THE DEVICE HAD AN UNDETERMINED MALFUNCTION. IT WAS UNKNOWN WHEN THE EVENT OCCURRED. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF DELAYS TO A SURGICAL PROCEDURE. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. THE DATE OF EVENT WAS UNKNOWN BUT WAS KNOWN TO HAVE OCCURRED IN 2026. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 24527526 ↗MalfunctionMar 5, 2026Leak/Splash; Appropriate Device Problem Term/Code Not Available
IT WAS REPORTED THAT DURING SERVICE AND EVALUATION, IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE POWER MODULE DEVICE WAS LEAKING A LIQUID. IT WAS REPORTED IN THE SERVICE ORDER THAT THE DEVICE HAD AN UNDETERMINED MALFUNCTION. IT WAS UNKNOWN WHEN THE EVENT OCCURRED. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF DELAYS TO A SURGICAL PROCEDURE. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. THE DATE OF EVENT WAS UNKNOWN BUT WAS KNOWN TO HAVE OCCURRED IN 2026. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 24527490 ↗MalfunctionMar 5, 2026Leak/Splash
IT WAS REPORTED THAT DURING SERVICE AND EVALUATION, IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE POWER MODULE DEVICE HAD A FLUID LEAK. THIS EVENT DID NOT OCCUR DURING SURGERY. THERE WAS NO PATIENT INVOLVEMENT. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION, OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. THE EXACT DATE OF THE EVENT WAS UNKNOWN. HOWEVER, IT WAS REPORTED THAT THE EVENT OCCURRED IN 2026. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 24519688 ↗MalfunctionMar 3, 2026Leak/Splash; Complete Loss of Power
IT WAS REPORTED THAT DURING SERVICE AND EVALUATION, IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE POWER MODULE DEVICE WAS LEAKING A LIQUID. IT WAS REPORTED IN THE SERVICE ORDER THAT THE DEVICE WAS NOT WORKING. IT WAS UNKNOWN WHEN THE EVENT OCCURRED. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF DELAYS TO A SURGICAL PROCEDURE. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. THE DATE OF EVENT WAS UNKNOWN, BUT WAS KNOWN TO HAVE OCCURRED IN 2026. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 24495352 ↗MalfunctionFeb 20, 2026Complete Loss of Power
IT WAS REPORTED THAT DURING SERVICE AND EVALUATION, IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE POWER MODULE DEVICE WOULD NOT CHARGE AND WAS LEAKING LIQUID. IT WAS FURTHER DETERMINED THAT THE DEVICE FAILED PRETEST FOR INFORMATION BUTTON AND SELF-TEST, CHARGING AND CHECKING OF POWER MODULE IN CHARGER UBC, FUNCTION ¿ TEST, SAW TEST, AND CHECK LIQUID INDICATOR. IT WAS NOTED IN THE SERVICE ORDER THAT THE DEVICE DID NOT WORK. THIS EVENT DID NOT OCCUR DURING SURGERY. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION, OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. THE EXACT DATE OF THE EVENT WAS NOT REPORTED. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED. IF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION SHOULD BECOME AVAILABLE, A SUPPLEMENTAL MEDWATCH WILL BE SUBMITTED ACCORDINGLY.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 24405673 ↗MalfunctionFeb 20, 2026Leak/Splash
IT WAS REPORTED THAT DURING SERVICE AND EVALUATION, IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE POWER MODULE DEVICE WAS LEAKING LIQUID. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. THE EXACT DATE OF THE EVENT WAS UNKNOWN. HOWEVER, IT WAS REPORTED THAT THE EVENT OCCURRED IN 2026. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 24402561 ↗MalfunctionFeb 18, 2026Leak/Splash; Complete Loss of Power
IT WAS REPORTED THAT DURING SERVICE AND EVALUATION, IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE POWER MODULE DEVICE WAS LEAKING A LIQUID. IT WAS REPORTED IN THE SERVICE ORDER THAT THE DEVICE WAS NOT WORKING. IT WAS UNKNOWN WHEN THE EVENT OCCURRED. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF DELAYS TO A SURGICAL PROCEDURE. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 24377109 ↗MalfunctionFeb 18, 2026Leak/Splash; Complete Loss of Power
IT WAS REPORTED THAT DURING SERVICE AND EVALUATION, IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE POWER MODULE DEVICE WAS LEAKING A LIQUID. IT WAS REPORTED IN THE SERVICE ORDER THAT THE DEVICE WAS NOT WORKING. IT WAS UNKNOWN WHEN THE EVENT OCCURRED. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF DELAYS TO A SURGICAL PROCEDURE. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 24377049 ↗MalfunctionFeb 18, 2026Leak/Splash; Complete Loss of Power
IT WAS REPORTED THAT DURING SERVICE AND EVALUATION, IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE POWER MODULE DEVICE WAS LEAKING A LIQUID. IT WAS REPORTED IN THE SERVICE ORDER THAT THE DEVICE WAS NOT WORKING. IT WAS UNKNOWN WHEN THE EVENT OCCURRED. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF DELAYS TO A SURGICAL PROCEDURE. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 24376954 ↗
Other BATTERY, REPLACEMENT, RECHARGEABLE devices
- Zimmer Biomet™ 89-8521-470-40Zimmer Surgical SA · Battery, Replacement, Rechargeable228 reports
- Zimmer Biomet™ 89-8510-440-10Zimmer Surgical SA · Battery, Replacement, Rechargeable90 reports
- Zimmer Biomet™ 89-8521-470-20Zimmer Surgical SA · Battery, Replacement, Rechargeable34 reports
- NA 05.001.204Synthes GmbH · BATTERY, REPLACEMENT, RECHARGEABLE22 reports
- NA 05.001.231Synthes GmbH · BATTERY, REPLACEMENT, RECHARGEABLE21 reports
- NA 05.001.227Synthes GmbH · BATTERY, REPLACEMENT, RECHARGEABLE11 reports
- Zimmer Biomet™ 89-8510-440-20Zimmer Surgical SA · Battery, Replacement, Rechargeable8 reports
- NA 530.690Synthes GmbH · BATTERY, REPLACEMENT, RECHARGEABLE7 reports
Sources and updates
- Device record: FDA GUDID, file dated Oct 13, 2026 · View this device in AccessGUDID ↗
- Adverse event reports: FDA MAUDE, file dated Oct 14, 2026 · each report above links to its original FDA record
- Recalls: FDA Medical Device Recalls, file dated Oct 16, 2026
- Page last rebuilt: Oct 18, 2026. Data downloaded through openFDA, which notes it is not validated for clinical or regulatory use.
How reports and recalls are matched · Editorial policy · Report an error on this page