SHARKSKINRecalls & reported problems across all models
Alcon Laboratories, Inc. · 3 models in the FDA device registry
Data updated Oct 16, 2026 from official FDA records · Editorial policy
- Adverse event reports
- 46
- Deaths reported
- 0
- Injuries reported
- 11
- Recalls
- 0
We found 3 models of SHARKSKIN by Alcon Laboratories, Inc. in the FDA's device registry (GUDID). Together they are named in 46 adverse event reports in the FDA's MAUDE database, received between Sep 2, 2021 and Apr 2, 2026 — classified as 11 injuries, 35 malfunctions.
The most frequently reported specific device problem is “Difficult to Open or Close” (28 reports).
Reports come from manufacturers, hospitals and patients and are not verified by the FDA. A report does not prove the device caused the event. Widely used products collect more reports, so totals can't be used to compare products or estimate failure rates. Only reports that name a model's exact device identifier are counted. What reports can and can't tell you · How this data works
Reports received per month, all models
Most reported SHARKSKIN problems
Device problems
- Difficult to Open or Close28
- Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem11
- Break3
- Noise, Audible3
- Activation Problem2
- Appropriate Device Problem Term/Code Not Available1
- Device Damaged by Another Device1
- Material Twisted/Bent1
Patient problems
- No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions30
- Appropriate Clinical Signs, Symptoms and Conditions Term/Code Not Available9
- Hemorrhage/Blood Loss/Bleeding7
- Insufficient Information5
- Retinal Detachment3
- Retinal Tear3
- Visual Impairment1
- Vitreous Hemorrhage1
SHARKSKIN models
3 models, most reported first. Each model has its own page with its reports, recalls and device details.
- SHARKSKIN 705.88PForceps, ophthalmic39 reports
- SHARKSKIN 706.88Forceps, ophthalmic4 reports
- SHARKSKIN 711.88Forceps, ophthalmic3 reports
Recent SHARKSKIN adverse event reports
The 15 most recent reports across all models, in the reporter's own words as published by the FDA.
MalfunctionApr 2, 2026Activation Problem
A CUSTOMER REPORTED THAT DURING SURGERY, CLAMPS IN THE OPHTHALMIC FORCEPS DID NOT OPEN. PROCEDURE DETAILS AND PATIENT IMPACT HAVE NOT BEEN PROVIDED. ADDITIONAL INFORMATION HAS BEEN REQUESTED BUT IS NOT AVAILABLE AT THE TIME OF THIS REPORT.
Patient problems: Insufficient Information
MAUDE report 24765380 ↗MalfunctionSep 17, 2025Difficult to Open or Close; Difficult to Open or Close
A PHYSICIAN REPORTED THAT FORCEPS COULD NOT OPEN UP DURING VITRECTOMY SURGERY. PROCEDURE WAS COMPLETED WITH ANOTHER FORCEPS. THERE WAS NO PATIENT HARM. ADDITIONAL INFORMATION HAS BEEN REQUESTED.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 23072037 ↗MalfunctionMay 21, 2025Difficult to Open or Close; Difficult to Open or Close
A PHYSICIAN REPORTED THAT DURING VITRECTOMY SURGERY A TIP OF THE FORCEPS CANNOT BE OPENED WHEN PRESSING THE HANDLE. PATIENT IMPACT WAS NOT REPORTED.
Patient problems: Insufficient Information
MAUDE report 22060183 ↗MalfunctionFeb 5, 2025Activation Problem; Activation Problem
A NURSE REPORTED THAT DURING VITRECTOMY SURGERY, AN OPHTHALMIC FORCEPS DID NOT WORK AND TIP DID NOT OPEN. THE FORCEPS REMAINED IN THE CLOSED POSITION. THE SURGERY WAS COMPLETED ON THE SAME DAY BY REPLACING THE PRODUCT WITH ANOTHER ONE. NO PATIENT IMPACT WAS REPORTED.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 21313305 ↗MalfunctionJan 17, 2025Difficult to Open or Close; Difficult to Open or Close
A NURSE REPORTED THAT THE OPHTHALMIC FORCEPS WOULD NOT OPEN NORMALLY. PROCEDURE DETAILS AND PATIENT IMPACT HAVE NOT BEEN PROVIDED.
Patient problems: Insufficient Information
MAUDE report 21176722 ↗MalfunctionDec 12, 2024Difficult to Open or Close; Difficult to Open or Close
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION RECEIVED INDICATES THAT THE SURGERY WAS COMPLETED BY REPLACING THE FORCEPS. NO PATIENT IMPACT WAS REPORTED.
Patient problems: Insufficient Information
MAUDE report 20913895 ↗MalfunctionNov 8, 2024Difficult to Open or Close; Difficult to Open or Close
A CUSTOMER REPORTED THAT THE JAW OF AN OPHTHALMIC FORCEPS WOULD NOT OPEN. IT WAS NOTED THAT VITREORETINAL SURGERY WAS SCHEDULED, AND THERE WAS NO PATIENT HARM.
Patient problems: Insufficient Information
MAUDE report 20639684 ↗MalfunctionMar 1, 2024Appropriate Device Problem Term/Code Not Available; Appropriate Device Problem Term/Code Not Available
A CUSTOMER REPORTED THAT AN OPHTHALMIC FORCEPS TIPS STUCK TOGETHER AND IT COULD NOT MOVE DURING THE SURGERY. THE PROCEDURE WAS COMPLETED ON THE SAME DAY AND THERE WAS NO REPORT OF PATIENT HARM AND PROCEDURE DETAILS.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 18815080 ↗MalfunctionFeb 19, 2024Difficult to Open or Close; Difficult to Open or Close
A NURSE REPORTED THAT OPHTHALMIC FORCEPS GOT STUCK DURING SURGERY. THE DETAILS OF PROCEDURE AND PATIENT HARM WERE NOT REPORTED. ADDITIONAL INFORMATION HAS BEEN REQUESTED AND NONE RECEIVED TILL DATE. ADDITIONAL INFORMATION RECEIVED REPORTING THAT DURING VITRECTOMY SURGERY FORCEPS GOT STUCK. PROCEDURE WAS COMPLETED WITH ALTERNATIVE PRODUCT AND THERE WAS NO PATIENT HARM.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 18729400 ↗MalfunctionJan 18, 2024Difficult to Open or Close; Difficult to Open or Close
A CUSTOMER REPORTED THAT THEY FOUND THE TIP OF THE FORCEPS WAS NOT WORKING. PROCEDURE DETAILS AND PATIENT IMPACT WERE NOT REPORTED. UPON ADDITIONAL INFORMATION RECEIVED IT WAS REPORTED THAT THE FORCEPS WERE GETTING STUCK DURING VITRECTOMY SURGERY AND THE PROCEDURE WAS COMPLETED WITH THE HELP OF NEW FORCEPS AND THE PATIENT WAS NOT HARMED.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 18532476 ↗MalfunctionJan 2, 2024Difficult to Open or Close; Difficult to Open or Close
A CUSTOMER REPORTED THAT DURING THE VITRECTOMY SURGERY OPHTHALMIC FORCEPS WAS USED AND IT WOULD NOT OPEN, WHICH GOT STUCK IN CLOSED POSITION. THE SURGERY WAS COMPLETED BY USING THE ALTERNATIVE FORCEPS. THERE WAS NO PATIENT HARM.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 18424080 ↗MalfunctionSep 25, 2023Device Damaged by Another Device; Device Damaged by Another Device
A GOVERNMENT AGENCY WAS REPORTED THAT AN OPHTHALMIC OPERATING FORCEPS ARE BROKEN BY THE HAPTICS DURING THE SURGERY. THERE WAS NO REPORT OF PROCEDURE AND PATIENT HARM DETAILS. ADDITIONAL INFORMATION AS BEEN REQUESTED AND NON E RECEIVED TILL DATE.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 17806472 ↗InjurySep 12, 2023Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem; Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem
A PHYSICIAN REPORTED THROUGH A LITERATURE STUDY REGARDING THE UTILIZATION OF INTRAOPERATIVE OCT (IOCT) GUIDANCE FOR THE REMOVAL OF EPIRETINAL MEMBRANE (ERM) AND INTERNAL LIMITING MEMBRANE (ILM). THIS PROCEDURE INVOLVED THE USE OF OPHTHALMIC FORCEPS WITH A LASER-ABLATED TIP SURFACE. THE STUDY INCLUDED PATIENTS WHO HAD UNDERGONE 23- AND 25-GAUGE PARS PLANA VITRECTOMY (PPV) TO ADDRESS VITREORETINAL INTERFACE DISORDERS. THE SURGERY INVOLVED FACILITATING THE REMOVAL OF ERM AND ILM USING MICROSCOPE-INTEGRATED IOCT AND OPHTHALMIC FORCEPS. IN ADDITION, TWO PATIENTS WITH IDIOPATHIC MACULAR PUCKER DISEASE WHO HAD UNDERGONE VITRECTOMY EXPERIENCED RETINAL HEMORRHAGE. SUBSEQUENT IOCT VIDEO ANALYSIS CONDUCTED AFTER THE SURGERY REVEALED HYPERREFLECTIVITY OF THE INNER RETINAL LAYERS, WHICH WAS ASSOCIATED WITH RETINAL HEMORRHAGE IN BOTH PATIENTS.
Patient problems: Appropriate Clinical Signs, Symptoms and Conditions Term/Code Not Available; Hemorrhage/Blood Loss/Bleeding
MAUDE report 17727155 ↗InjurySep 12, 2023Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem; Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem
A PHYSICIAN REPORTED THROUGH A LITERATURE STUDY REGARDING THE UTILIZATION OF INTRAOPERATIVE OCT (IOCT) GUIDANCE FOR THE REMOVAL OF EPIRETINAL MEMBRANE (ERM) AND INTERNAL LIMITING MEMBRANE (ILM). THIS PROCEDURE INVOLVED THE USE OF OPHTHALMIC FORCEPS WITH A LASER-ABLATED TIP SURFACE. THE STUDY INCLUDED PATIENTS WHO HAD UNDERGONE 23- AND 25-GAUGE PARS PLANA VITRECTOMY (PPV) TO ADDRESS VITREORETINAL INTERFACE DISORDERS. THE SURGERY INVOLVED FACILITATING THE REMOVAL OF ERM AND ILM USING MICROSCOPE-INTEGRATED IOCT AND OPHTHALMIC FORCEPS. IN ADDITION, TWO PATIENTS WITH IDIOPATHIC MACULAR PUCKER DISEASE WHO HAD UNDERGONE VITRECTOMY EXPERIENCED RETINAL HEMORRHAGE. SUBSEQUENT IOCT VIDEO ANALYSIS CONDUCTED AFTER THE SURGERY REVEALED HYPERREFLECTIVITY OF THE INNER RETINAL LAYERS, WHICH WAS ASSOCIATED WITH RETINAL HEMORRHAGE IN BOTH PATIENTS.
Patient problems: Appropriate Clinical Signs, Symptoms and Conditions Term/Code Not Available; Hemorrhage/Blood Loss/Bleeding
MAUDE report 17727154 ↗InjurySep 12, 2023Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem; Adverse Event Without Identified Device or Use Problem
A PHYSICIAN REPORTED THROUGH A LITERATURE STUDY REGARDING THE UTILIZATION OF INTRAOPERATIVE OCT (IOCT) GUIDANCE FOR THE REMOVAL OF EPIRETINAL MEMBRANE (ERM) AND INTERNAL LIMITING MEMBRANE (ILM). THIS PROCEDURE INVOLVED THE USE OF OPHTHALMIC FORCEPS WITH A LASER-ABLATED TIP SURFACE. THE STUDY INCLUDED PATIENTS WHO HAD UNDERGONE 23- AND 25-GAUGE PARS PLANA VITRECTOMY (PPV) TO ADDRESS VITREORETINAL INTERFACE DISORDERS. THE SURGERY INVOLVED FACILITATING THE REMOVAL OF ERM AND ILM USING MICROSCOPE-INTEGRATED IOCT AND OPHTHALMIC FORCEPS. IN ADDITION, TWO PATIENTS WITH IDIOPATHIC MACULAR PUCKER DISEASE WHO HAD UNDERGONE VITRECTOMY EXPERIENCED RETINAL HEMORRHAGE. SUBSEQUENT IOCT VIDEO ANALYSIS CONDUCTED AFTER THE SURGERY REVEALED HYPERREFLECTIVITY OF THE INNER RETINAL LAYERS, WHICH WAS ASSOCIATED WITH RETINAL HEMORRHAGE IN BOTH PATIENTS.
Patient problems: Appropriate Clinical Signs, Symptoms and Conditions Term/Code Not Available; Hemorrhage/Blood Loss/Bleeding
MAUDE report 17727153 ↗
Other Alcon Laboratories, Inc. products
- Clareon1,142 models · 8,100 reports · 1 recall
- Constellation, EDGE PLUS, TOTAL PLUS, ULTRAVIT8 models · 2,968 reports · 5 recalls
- Constellation13 models · 2,176 reports · 4 recalls
- CONSTELLATION HYPERVIT TOTAL PLUS5 models · 2,098 reports · 4 recalls
- Centurion5 models · 1,967 reports
- ACRYSOF353 models · 1,890 reports
- AcrySof UltraSert102 models · 1,467 reports · 1 recall
- MONARCH III2 models · 1,380 reports · 1 recall
Sources and updates
- Models: FDA GUDID, file dated Oct 13, 2026. Models are grouped by the brand name the manufacturer registered.
- Adverse event reports: FDA MAUDE, file dated Oct 14, 2026
- Recalls: FDA Medical Device Recalls, file dated Oct 16, 2026
- Page last rebuilt: Oct 16, 2026. Data downloaded through openFDA, which notes it is not validated for clinical or regulatory use.
How reports and recalls are matched · Editorial policy · Report an error on this page