NA 219413Recalls & reported problems
Depuy Mitek, LLC · Tunnel Dilator, 11mm -5 to 120mm (Plus or Minus 10 Percent) · Class 1
Data updated Oct 16, 2026 from official FDA records · Editorial policy
- Adverse event reports
- 3
- Deaths reported
- 0
- Injuries reported
- 0
- Recalls naming it
- 0
Summary
The FDA's MAUDE database contains 3 adverse event reports that list this exact device (DI 10886705006380), received between May 1, 2019 and May 5, 2026 — classified as 3 malfunctions.
The most frequently reported specific device problem is “Break” (1 report).
Reports come from manufacturers, hospitals and patients and are not verified by the FDA. A report does not prove the device caused the event, and counts can't be used to compare devices or estimate failure rates. What reports can and can't tell you · How this data works · Data updated Oct 16, 2026.
Reports received per month
Most reported problems
Device problems
- Break1
- Degraded1
- Device Contaminated During Manufacture or Shipping1
- Device Contamination with Chemical or Other Material1
Patient problems
- No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions2
- No Consequences Or Impact To Patient1
Recent adverse event reports
The 3 most recent of 3 reports, in the reporter's own words as published by the FDA.
MalfunctionMay 5, 2026Break; Degraded
IT WAS REPORTED THAT THE TUNNEL DILATOR 6.5MM DEVICE HAD RUST AND METAL SHAVINGS INSIDE, THE TUNNEL DILATOR 7.0MM DEVICE HAD RUST INSIDE, THE TUNNEL DILATOR 8.5MM DEVICE HAD RUST AND METAL SHAVINGS INSIDE, THE TUNNEL DILATOR 9.5MM DEVICE HAD RUST AND METAL SHAVINGS INSIDE, THE TUNNEL DILATOR 10.0MM DEVICE HAD RUST AND METAL SHAVINGS INSIDE, THE TUNNEL DILATOR 10.5MM DEVICE HAD RUST INSIDE, THE TUNNEL DILATOR 11.0MM DEVICE HAD RUST AND METAL SHAVINGS INSIDE, THE TUNNEL DILATOR 11.5MM DEVICE HAD RUST INSIDE, AND THE TUNNEL DILATOR 12.0MM DEVICE HAD RUST INSIDE. IT WAS NOT REPORTED IF THE DEVICES WAS USED IN A SURGICAL PROCEDURE. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION, OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. THE EXACT DATE OF THE EVENT WAS NOT REPORTED; HOWEVER, IT WAS REPORTED THAT THE EVENT OCCURRED IN 2026. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED. NO ADDITIONAL INFORMATION COULD BE PROVIDED. THIS IS REPORT 5 OF 5 FOR (B)(4).
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 25086841 ↗MalfunctionFeb 15, 2023Device Contaminated During Manufacture or Shipping; Device Contaminated During Manufacture or Shipping
THIS IS REPORT 9 OF 28 FOR (B)(4). IT WAS REPORTED BY THE FIELD SERVICE ENGINEER THAT DURING INSPECTION, THE CUSTOMER OBSERVED THAT THE TUNNEL DILATOR, 11.0 MM DEVICE HAD CONTAMINATION INSIDE ITS CANNULATED SECTION. ACCORDING TO THE REPORT, THE EVENT OCCURRED BEFORE PROCESSING WHEN THE CUSTOMER DECIDED TO INSPECT THE DEVICE WITH THEIR BORESCOPE. IT WAS REPORTED THAT THE DEVICE WAS PURCHASED ON JUNE 2022; AND HAS NEVER BEEN USED. IT WAS FURTHER REPORTED THAT THE DEVICE WAS SHELVED AND STORED IN CONTROLLED ENVIRONMENT IN THE STERILE PROCESSING DEPARTMENT. THERE WAS NO PROCEDURE NOR PATIENT INVOLVEMENT REPORTED. NO ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WAS PROVIDED.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 16382130 ↗MalfunctionMay 1, 2019Device Contamination with Chemical or Other Material; Device Contamination with Chemical or Other Material
IT WAS REPORTED THAT THERE IS A QUALITY PROBLEM OF EQUIPMENT NUMBER (B)(4), TUNNEL DILATORS SIZES 6MM-10.5MM. THEY PRESENT THE ELIMINATION OF OXIDE AFTER STERILIZATION. THE PRODUCTS ARE CONSIGNED IN THE CLIENT. THIS COMPLAINT INVOLVES THIRTEEN DEVICES. THIS (B)(4) CAPTURES THREE DEVICES WHILE THE LINKED (B)(4) CAPTURES REMAINING TEN DEVICES. THIS IS REPORT 1 OF 3 FOR (B)(4).
Patient problems: No Consequences Or Impact To Patient
MAUDE report 8570147 ↗
Other ACCESSORIES,ARTHROSCOPIC devices
- Arthrex® AR-12990Arthrex, Inc. · Accessories, arthroscopic409 reports
- NA 228302Medos International Sàrl · ACCESSORIES,ARTHROSCOPIC287 reports
- FIRSTPASS 72290128Smith & Nephew, Inc. · ACCESSORIES,ARTHROSCOPIC232 reports
- NA 251723Medos International Sàrl · ACCESSORIES,ARTHROSCOPIC145 reports
- COBRA 3910900093Stryker Corporation · Accessories, arthroscopic138 reports
- FirstPass 72290129Smith & Nephew, Inc. · Accessories, arthroscopic82 reports
- FirstPass 72290130Smith & Nephew, Inc. · Accessories, arthroscopic80 reports
- MITEK 242025Medos International Sàrl · ACCESSORIES,ARTHROSCOPIC61 reports
Sources and updates
- Device record: FDA GUDID, file dated Oct 13, 2026 · View this device in AccessGUDID ↗
- Adverse event reports: FDA MAUDE, file dated Oct 14, 2026 · each report above links to its original FDA record
- Recalls: FDA Medical Device Recalls, file dated Oct 16, 2026
- Page last rebuilt: Oct 16, 2026. Data downloaded through openFDA, which notes it is not validated for clinical or regulatory use.
How reports and recalls are matched · Editorial policy · Report an error on this page