NA 05.001.035Recalls & reported problems
Synthes GmbH · 90DEG DRILL ATTACHMENT-SHORT MQC FOR PEN DRIVE · Class 1
Data updated Oct 16, 2026 from official FDA records · Editorial policy
- Adverse event reports
- 1
- Deaths reported
- 0
- Injuries reported
- 0
- Recalls naming it
- 0
Summary
The FDA's MAUDE database contains 1 adverse event report that list this exact device (DI 10886982128485), received between Jan 6, 2026 and Jan 6, 2026 — classified as 1 malfunction.
The most frequently reported specific device problem is “Premature Separation” (1 report).
6 other recalls cover devices cleared under the same FDA submission (K043310); they may or may not involve this specific model.
Reports come from manufacturers, hospitals and patients and are not verified by the FDA. A report does not prove the device caused the event, and counts can't be used to compare devices or estimate failure rates. What reports can and can't tell you · How this data works · Data updated Oct 16, 2026.
Reports received per month
Most reported problems
Device problems
- Premature Separation1
Patient problems
- No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions1
Recent adverse event reports
The 1 most recent of 1 reports, in the reporter's own words as published by the FDA.
MalfunctionJan 6, 2026Premature Separation
IT WAS REPORTED THAT THE DRILL ATTACHMENT DEVICE BECAME UNLOCKED WHILE WORKING. IT WAS NOT REPORTED IF THE DEVICE WAS USED IN SURGERY. IT WAS NOT REPORTED IF THERE WERE ANY DELAYS IN A SURGICAL PROCEDURE OR IF A SPARE DEVICE WAS AVAILABLE. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. THE EXACT DATE OF THE EVENT WAS UNKNOWN. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 23975258 ↗
Recalls under the same FDA submission
These recalls involve devices cleared under K043310. One submission often covers many models, so check the product and lot details in each record.
- Z-0681-2017 · Nov 1, 2016 · TerminatedSynthes 0.76 mm Drill Bit/Stryker J-Latch/with 5mm Stop/44.5 mm Non-Sterile
- Z-2783-2016 · Jun 24, 2016 · TerminatedLight Adaptor for Small Battery Drive and Small Battery Drive II.
- Z-2784-2016 · Jun 24, 2016 · TerminatedAdaptor for Small Battery Drive and Small Battery Drive II. Product Usage: The Light Adaptor for Small Battery Drive (SBD) /Small Battery Drive II (SBD II) is designed for use in
- Z-2199-2016 · May 31, 2016 · TerminatedPart # 313.250, 1.1mm Drill Bit, Mini QC with 4mm Stop/44.5mm, lot # 4326989, mfg. 9/28/2001 Product Usage: The DePuy Synthes MR Safe Instruments and MR conditional Instruments ar
- Z-1313-2015 · Dec 19, 2014 · TerminatedSynthes Electric Pen Drive (EPD) System, The Synthes Electric Pen Drive is indicated for screw insertion, pin and wire replacement, cutting of bone and metal, drilling, decorticati
- Z-0615-2014 · Apr 15, 2013 · TerminatedSynthes Hand Switch - Electric Pen Drive, Part Number 05.001.012 The Synthes Electric Pen Drive is indicated for screw insertion, pin and wire replacement, cutting of bone and met
Other INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT devices
- NA 511.701Synthes GmbH · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT2,164 reports
- SmartLife 7126-120-000Stryker Corporation · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT1,065 reports
- NA 05.001.224Synthes GmbH · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT987 reports
- NA 05.001.206Synthes GmbH · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT632 reports
- NA 532.021Synthes GmbH · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT521 reports
- NA 2570-04-501Depuy (Ireland) · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT500 reports
- NA 532.110Synthes GmbH · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT433 reports
- NA 05.001.223Synthes GmbH · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT397 reports
Sources and updates
- Device record: FDA GUDID, file dated Oct 13, 2026 · View this device in AccessGUDID ↗
- Adverse event reports: FDA MAUDE, file dated Oct 14, 2026 · each report above links to its original FDA record
- Recalls: FDA Medical Device Recalls, file dated Oct 16, 2026
- Page last rebuilt: Oct 16, 2026. Data downloaded through openFDA, which notes it is not validated for clinical or regulatory use.
How reports and recalls are matched · Editorial policy · Report an error on this page