NA 05.001.059Recalls & reported problems
Synthes GmbH · CRANIOTOME ATTACHMENT FOR PEN DRIVE · Class 1
Data updated Oct 13, 2026 from official FDA records · Editorial policy
- Adverse event reports
- 2
- Deaths reported
- 0
- Injuries reported
- 0
- Recalls naming it
- 0
Summary
The FDA's MAUDE database contains 2 adverse event reports that list this exact device (DI 10886982128836), received between Jun 14, 2019 and Nov 12, 2019 — classified as 2 malfunctions.
The most frequently reported specific device problem is “Detachment of Device or Device Component” (1 report).
6 other recalls cover devices cleared under the same FDA submission (K043310); they may or may not involve this specific model.
Reports come from manufacturers, hospitals and patients and are not verified by the FDA. A report does not prove the device caused the event, and counts can't be used to compare devices or estimate failure rates. How this data works · Data updated Oct 13, 2026.
Most reported problems
Device problems
- Detachment of Device or Device Component1
- Overheating of Device1
Patient problems
- No Consequences Or Impact To Patient2
Recent adverse event reports
The 2 most recent of 2 reports, in the reporter's own words as published by the FDA.
MalfunctionNov 12, 2019Detachment of Device or Device Component; Detachment of Device or Device Component
IT WAS REPORTED FROM (B)(6) THAT DURING CLEANING OF THE CRANIOTOME DEVICE A PART OF THE TOP BLOCKING SYSTEM OF THE ATTACHMENT FELL FROM THE ATTACHMENT. IT WAS NOT REPORTED IF THE DEVICE WAS USED IN SURGERY, OR IF THERE WAS PATIENT INVOLVEMENT. IT WAS NOT REPORTED IF THERE WERE ANY DELAYS IN A SURGICAL PROCEDURE, OR IF A SPARE DEVICE WAS AVAILABLE FOR USE. IT WAS NOT REPORTED IF THERE WERE ANY INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. THE EXACT DATE OF THIS EVENT IS UNKNOWN. ALL AVAILABLE HAS BEEN DISCLOSED. IF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WERE TO BECOME AVAILABLE, A SUPPLEMENTAL MEDWATCH WILL BE SUBMITTED ACCORDINGLY.
Patient problems: No Consequences Or Impact To Patient
MAUDE report 9310031 ↗MalfunctionJun 14, 2019Overheating of Device; Overheating of Device
IT WAS REPORTED FROM (B)(6) THAT DURING SERVICE AND EVALUATION, IT WAS DETERMINED THAT CRANIOTOME ATTACHMENT DEVICE WAS HEATING UP. THIS EVENT DID NOT OCCUR DURING SURGERY. THERE WAS NO PATIENT INVOLVEMENT. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. THE EXACT DATE OF THE EVENT WAS NOT REPORTED, HOWEVER, IT WAS REPORTED THAT THE EVENT OCCURRED IN 2019. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED. IF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION SHOULD BECOME AVAILABLE, A SUPPLEMENTAL MEDWATCH WILL BE SUBMITTED ACCORDINGLY.
Patient problems: No Consequences Or Impact To Patient
MAUDE report 8699535 ↗
Recalls under the same FDA submission
These recalls involve devices cleared under K043310. One submission often covers many models, so check the product and lot details in each record.
- Z-0681-2017 · Nov 1, 2016 · TerminatedSynthes 0.76 mm Drill Bit/Stryker J-Latch/with 5mm Stop/44.5 mm Non-Sterile
- Z-2784-2016 · Jun 24, 2016 · TerminatedAdaptor for Small Battery Drive and Small Battery Drive II. Product Usage: The Light Adaptor for Small Battery Drive (SBD) /Small Battery Drive II (SBD II) is designed for use in
- Z-2783-2016 · Jun 24, 2016 · TerminatedLight Adaptor for Small Battery Drive and Small Battery Drive II.
- Z-2199-2016 · May 31, 2016 · TerminatedPart # 313.250, 1.1mm Drill Bit, Mini QC with 4mm Stop/44.5mm, lot # 4326989, mfg. 9/28/2001 Product Usage: The DePuy Synthes MR Safe Instruments and MR conditional Instruments ar
- Z-1313-2015 · Dec 19, 2014 · TerminatedSynthes Electric Pen Drive (EPD) System, The Synthes Electric Pen Drive is indicated for screw insertion, pin and wire replacement, cutting of bone and metal, drilling, decorticati
- Z-0615-2014 · Apr 15, 2013 · TerminatedSynthes Hand Switch - Electric Pen Drive, Part Number 05.001.012 The Synthes Electric Pen Drive is indicated for screw insertion, pin and wire replacement, cutting of bone and met
Other INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT devices
- NA 511.701Synthes GmbH · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT2,164 reports
- SmartLife 7126-120-000Stryker Corporation · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT1,065 reports
- NA 05.001.224Synthes GmbH · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT987 reports
- NA 05.001.206Synthes GmbH · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT632 reports
- NA 532.021Synthes GmbH · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT521 reports
- NA 2570-04-501Depuy (Ireland) · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT500 reports
- NA 532.110Synthes GmbH · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT433 reports
- NA 05.001.223Synthes GmbH · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT397 reports
Sources and updates
- Device record: FDA GUDID, file dated Oct 13, 2026 · View this device in AccessGUDID ↗
- Adverse event reports: FDA MAUDE, file dated Oct 13, 2026 · each report above links to its original FDA record
- Recalls: FDA Medical Device Recalls, file dated Oct 13, 2026
- Page last rebuilt: Oct 13, 2026. Data downloaded through openFDA, which notes it is not validated for clinical or regulatory use.
How reports and recalls are matched · Editorial policy · Report an error on this page