NA 05.001.099Recalls & reported problems
Synthes GmbH · MAINTENANCE STATION FOR ELECTRIC PEN DRIVE · Class 2
Data updated Oct 18, 2026 from official FDA records · Editorial policy
- Adverse event reports
- 2
- Deaths reported
- 0
- Injuries reported
- 0
- Recalls naming it
- 0
Summary
The FDA's MAUDE database contains 2 adverse event reports that list this exact device (DI 10886982129215), received between Feb 9, 2023 and Feb 27, 2024 — classified as 2 malfunctions.
The most frequently reported specific device problem is “Complete Loss of Power” (2 reports).
6 other recalls cover devices cleared under the same FDA submission (K043310); they may or may not involve this specific model.
Reports come from manufacturers, hospitals and patients and are not verified by the FDA. A report does not prove the device caused the event, and counts can't be used to compare devices or estimate failure rates. What reports can and can't tell you · How this data works · Data updated Oct 18, 2026.
Reports received per month
Most reported problems
Device problems
- Complete Loss of Power2
- Detachment of Device or Device Component1
- Improper or Incorrect Procedure or Method1
- Physical Resistance/Sticking1
Patient problems
- No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions2
Recent adverse event reports
The 2 most recent of 2 reports, in the reporter's own words as published by the FDA.
MalfunctionFeb 27, 2024Physical Resistance/Sticking; Complete Loss of Power; Physical Resistance/Sticking; Complete Loss of Power
IT WAS REPORTED BY INDIA THAT DURING SERVICE AND EVALUATION, IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE TRIGGER OF THE BATTERY HANDPIECE/MODULAR DEVICE WAS STICKY. IT WAS FURTHER OBSERVED THAT THE DEVICE HAD A LEAK TIGHTNESS TEST FAILURE AND WOULD NOT RUN. IT WAS FURTHER DETERMINED THAT THE DEVICE FAILED PRETEST FOR LEAKAGE TEST USING BUBBLE EMISSION TECHNIQUE, CHECK FOR STICKY TRIGGERS AND CHECK GENERAL FUNCTION OF DEVICE. IT WAS NOTED IN THE SERVICE ORDER THAT THE DEVICE WAS NOT WORKING. THIS EVENT DID NOT OCCUR DURING SURGERY. THERE WAS NO PATIENT INVOLVEMENT. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. THE EXACT DATE OF THE EVENT WAS UNKNOWN. HOWEVER, IT WAS REPORTED THAT THE EVENT OCCURRED IN (B)(6) 2024. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED. IF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION SHOULD BECOME AVAILABLE, A SUPPLEMENTAL MEDWATCH WILL BE SUBMITTED ACCORDINGLY.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 18789493 ↗MalfunctionFeb 9, 2023Improper or Incorrect Procedure or Method; Detachment of Device or Device Component; Complete Loss of Power; Improper or Incorrect Procedure or Method; Detachment of Device or Device Component; Complete Loss of Power
IT WAS REPORTED THAT THE PLUG OF MAINTENANCE STATION PEN DRIVE WAS SEPARATED AND RELEASED SPARKS. IT WAS FURTHER REPORTED THAT THE UNIT DID NOT POWER UP. IT WAS NOT REPORTED IF THE DEVICE WAS USED IN SURGERY, OR IF THERE WAS PATIENT INVOLVEMENT. IT WAS NOT REPORTED IF THERE WERE ANY DELAYS IN A SURGICAL PROCEDURE OR IF A SPARE DEVICE WAS AVAILABLE FOR USE. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. THE EXACT DATE OF THE EVENT WAS UNKNOWN. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED. IF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION SHOULD BECOME AVAILABLE, A SUPPLEMENTAL MEDWATCH REPORT WILL BE SUBMITTED ACCORDINGLY.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 16341450 ↗
Recalls under the same FDA submission
These recalls involve devices cleared under K043310. One submission often covers many models, so check the product and lot details in each record.
- Z-0681-2017 · Nov 1, 2016 · TerminatedSynthes 0.76 mm Drill Bit/Stryker J-Latch/with 5mm Stop/44.5 mm Non-Sterile
- Z-2784-2016 · Jun 24, 2016 · TerminatedAdaptor for Small Battery Drive and Small Battery Drive II. Product Usage: The Light Adaptor for Small Battery Drive (SBD) /Small Battery Drive II (SBD II) is designed for use in
- Z-2783-2016 · Jun 24, 2016 · TerminatedLight Adaptor for Small Battery Drive and Small Battery Drive II.
- Z-2199-2016 · May 31, 2016 · TerminatedPart # 313.250, 1.1mm Drill Bit, Mini QC with 4mm Stop/44.5mm, lot # 4326989, mfg. 9/28/2001 Product Usage: The DePuy Synthes MR Safe Instruments and MR conditional Instruments ar
- Z-1313-2015 · Dec 19, 2014 · TerminatedSynthes Electric Pen Drive (EPD) System, The Synthes Electric Pen Drive is indicated for screw insertion, pin and wire replacement, cutting of bone and metal, drilling, decorticati
- Z-0615-2014 · Apr 15, 2013 · TerminatedSynthes Hand Switch - Electric Pen Drive, Part Number 05.001.012 The Synthes Electric Pen Drive is indicated for screw insertion, pin and wire replacement, cutting of bone and met
Other DRILL, BONE, POWERED devices
- NA 03.505.004Synthes GmbH · DRILL, BONE, POWERED69 reports
- Nobel Biocare® 37470Nobel Biocare AB · DRILL, BONE, POWERED1 recall0 reports
- MatrixMANDIBLE 03.503.476Synthes GmbH · DRILL, BONE, POWERED26 reports
- NA 310.510Synthes GmbH · DRILL, BONE, POWERED17 reports
- NA 317.82Synthes GmbH · DRILL, BONE, POWERED16 reports
- MatrixMANDIBLE 03.503.479Synthes GmbH · DRILL, BONE, POWERED11 reports
- NA 05.001.120Synthes GmbH · DRILL, BONE, POWERED9 reports
- NA 310.520Synthes GmbH · DRILL, BONE, POWERED9 reports
Sources and updates
- Device record: FDA GUDID, file dated Oct 13, 2026 · View this device in AccessGUDID ↗
- Adverse event reports: FDA MAUDE, file dated Oct 14, 2026 · each report above links to its original FDA record
- Recalls: FDA Medical Device Recalls, file dated Oct 16, 2026
- Page last rebuilt: Oct 18, 2026. Data downloaded through openFDA, which notes it is not validated for clinical or regulatory use.
How reports and recalls are matched · Editorial policy · Report an error on this page