NA 05.001.254Recalls & reported problems
Synthes GmbH · LARGE CHUCK WITH KEY REAMING SPEED · Class 1
Data updated Oct 18, 2026 from official FDA records · Editorial policy
- Adverse event reports
- 3
- Deaths reported
- 0
- Injuries reported
- 0
- Recalls naming it
- 0
Summary
The FDA's MAUDE database contains 3 adverse event reports that list this exact device (DI 10886982130273), received between Mar 8, 2018 and Aug 14, 2025 — classified as 3 malfunctions.
The most frequently reported specific device problem is “Detachment of Device or Device Component” (2 reports).
Reports come from manufacturers, hospitals and patients and are not verified by the FDA. A report does not prove the device caused the event, and counts can't be used to compare devices or estimate failure rates. What reports can and can't tell you · How this data works · Data updated Oct 18, 2026.
Reports received per month
Most reported problems
Device problems
- Detachment of Device or Device Component2
- Break1
- Vibration1
Patient problems
- No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions1
- No Known Impact Or Consequence To Patient1
- Not Applicable1
Recent adverse event reports
The 3 most recent of 3 reports, in the reporter's own words as published by the FDA.
MalfunctionAug 14, 2025Break; Detachment of Device or Device Component; Break; Detachment of Device or Device Component
IT WAS REPORTED THAT THE CHUCK WITH KEY DEVICE METAL BALLS FELL OUT OF ONE OF THE BEARINGS WHERE THE DRILL BIT ATTACHES. IT WAS NOT REPORTED IF THE DEVICE WAS USED IN SURGERY. THERE WAS NO HUMAN PATIENT INVOLVEMENT AS THIS DEVICE WAS INTENDED FOR VETERINARY USE ONLY. IT WAS NOT REPORTED IF THERE WERE ANY DELAYS IN A SURGICAL PROCEDURE OR IF A SPARE DEVICE WAS AVAILABLE. IT WAS NOT REPORTED IF THERE WERE ANY INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. THE EXACT DATE OF THE EVENT WAS UNKNOWN. HOWEVER, IT WAS REPORTED THAT THE EVENT OCCURRED IN 2025. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 22804725 ↗MalfunctionOct 18, 2019Detachment of Device or Device Component; Detachment of Device or Device Component
IT WAS REPORTED THAT ONE OF THE THREE ¿TEETH¿ LOCATED IN THE LARGE CHUCK WITH KEY DEVICE THAT HOLD THE PIN DEVICES IN PLACE HAD FALLEN OUT OF THE CHUCK DEVICE. IT WAS NOT REPORTED IF THE EVENT OCCURRED DURING A SURGICAL PROCEDURE. IT WAS NOT REPORTED IF THERE WAS A DELAY TO A PLANNED PROCEDURE. IT WAS NOT REPORTED IF THERE WAS A SPARE DEVICE AVAILABLE FOR USE. THERE WAS NO HUMAN PATIENT INVOLVEMENT AS THIS DEVICE IS INTENDED FOR VETERINARY USE ONLY. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. THE EXACT DATE OF THE EVENT WAS NOT REPORTED. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED. IF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION SHOULD BECOME AVAILABLE, A SUPPLEMENTAL MEDWATCH WILL BE SUBMITTED ACCORDINGLY.
Patient problems: Not Applicable
MAUDE report 9208636 ↗MalfunctionMar 8, 2018Vibration; Vibration
IT WAS REPORTED FROM (B)(6) THAT THE LARGE CHUCK KEY DEVICE WAS RUNNING ROUGH. IT WAS NOT REPORTED IF THE DEVICE WAS USED IN SURGERY, OR IF THERE WAS PATIENT INVOLVEMENT. IT WAS NOT REPORTED IF THERE WERE ANY DELAYS IN THE SURGICAL PROCEDURE, OR IF A SPARE DEVICE WAS AVAILABLE FOR USE. IT WAS NOT REPORTED IF THERE WERE ANY INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. THE EXACT DATE OF THE EVENT WAS NOT REPORTED, HOWEVER IT WAS NOTED THAT THE EVENT OCCURRED IN 2018. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED. IF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION SHOULD BECOME AVAILABLE, A SUPPLEMENTAL MEDWATCH WILL BE SUBMITTED ACCORDINGLY.
Patient problems: No Known Impact Or Consequence To Patient
MAUDE report 7325314 ↗
Other INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT devices
- NA 511.701Synthes GmbH · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT2,164 reports
- SmartLife 7126-120-000Stryker Corporation · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT1,065 reports
- NA 05.001.224Synthes GmbH · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT987 reports
- NA 05.001.206Synthes GmbH · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT632 reports
- NA 532.021Synthes GmbH · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT521 reports
- NA 2570-04-501Depuy (Ireland) · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT500 reports
- NA 532.110Synthes GmbH · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT433 reports
- NA 05.001.223Synthes GmbH · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT397 reports
Sources and updates
- Device record: FDA GUDID, file dated Oct 13, 2026 · View this device in AccessGUDID ↗
- Adverse event reports: FDA MAUDE, file dated Oct 14, 2026 · each report above links to its original FDA record
- Recalls: FDA Medical Device Recalls, file dated Oct 16, 2026
- Page last rebuilt: Oct 18, 2026. Data downloaded through openFDA, which notes it is not validated for clinical or regulatory use.
How reports and recalls are matched · Editorial policy · Report an error on this page