NA 511.417Recalls & reported problems
Synthes GmbH · 4.0MM THREE-FLUTED RADIOLUCENT DRILL BIT/BRAD POINT/150MM · Class 1
- Adverse event reports
- 1
- Deaths reported
- 0
- Injuries reported
- 0
- Recalls naming it
- 0
Summary
The FDA's MAUDE database contains 1 adverse event report that list this exact device (DI 10886982237521), received between Dec 11, 2019 and Dec 11, 2019 — classified as 1 malfunction.
The most frequently reported specific device problem is “Excessive Heating” (1 report).
Reports come from manufacturers, hospitals and patients and are not verified by the FDA. A report does not prove the device caused the event, and counts can't be used to compare devices or estimate failure rates. How this data works · Data updated Oct 13, 2026.
Most reported problems
Device problems
- Excessive Heating1
Patient problems
- No Consequences Or Impact To Patient1
Recent adverse event reports
The 1 most recent of 1 reports, in the reporter's own words as published by the FDA.
MalfunctionDec 11, 2019Excessive Heating; Excessive Heating
IT WAS REPORTED BY (B)(6) THAT AT THE TIME OF MILLING, SMOKE BEGAN TO COME OUT OF THE MARK ON THE DRILL BIT DEVICE. IT WAS FURTHER REPORTED THAT THE DEVICE HAD MARKS OF MELTED PLASTIC DUE TO HEAT. IT WAS NOT REPORTED IF THE DEVICE WAS USED IN SURGERY, OR IF THERE WAS PATIENT INVOLVEMENT. IT WAS NOT REPORTED IF THERE WERE ANY DELAYS IN A SURGICAL PROCEDURE OR IF A SPARE DEVICE WAS AVAILABLE. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED. IF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION SHOULD BECOME AVAILABLE, A SUPPLEMENTAL MEDWATCH REPORT WILL BE SUBMITTED ACCORDINGLY.
Patient problems: No Consequences Or Impact To Patient
MAUDE report 9452931 ↗
Other BLADE, SAW, GENERAL & PLASTIC SURGERY, SURGICAL devices
- NA 511.801Synthes GmbH · BLADE, SAW, GENERAL & PLASTIC SURGERY, SURGICAL223 reports
- Formula 0375544000Stryker Corporation · BLADE, SAW, GENERAL & PLASTIC SURGERY, SURGICAL98 reports
- NA 0277096325Stryker Corporation · BLADE, SAW, GENERAL & PLASTIC SURGERY, SURGICAL95 reports
- NA 310.25Synthes GmbH · BLADE, SAW, GENERAL & PLASTIC SURGERY, SURGICAL91 reports
- Arthrex® AR-8400TDArthrex, Inc. · BLADE, SAW, GENERAL & PLASTIC SURGERY, SURGICAL86 reports
- NA 0277096275Stryker Corporation · BLADE, SAW, GENERAL & PLASTIC SURGERY, SURGICAL72 reports
- Arthrex® AR-7300DSArthrex, Inc. · BLADE, SAW, GENERAL & PLASTIC SURGERY, SURGICAL70 reports
- NA 0277096277Stryker Corporation · BLADE, SAW, GENERAL & PLASTIC SURGERY, SURGICAL69 reports
Sources: FDA GUDID, MAUDE and Medical Device Recalls via openFDA. openFDA data is not validated for clinical or regulatory use.