NA 532.004Recalls & reported problems
Synthes GmbH · BATTERY INSERTION SHIELD · Class 1
Data updated Oct 13, 2026 from official FDA records · Editorial policy
- Adverse event reports
- 1
- Deaths reported
- 0
- Injuries reported
- 0
- Recalls naming it
- 0
Summary
The FDA's MAUDE database contains 1 adverse event report that list this exact device (DI 10886982240361), received between Nov 29, 2017 and Nov 29, 2017 — classified as 1 malfunction.
The most frequently reported specific device problem is “Fracture” (1 report).
Reports come from manufacturers, hospitals and patients and are not verified by the FDA. A report does not prove the device caused the event, and counts can't be used to compare devices or estimate failure rates. How this data works · Data updated Oct 13, 2026.
Most reported problems
Device problems
- Fracture1
Patient problems
- No Known Impact Or Consequence To Patient1
Recent adverse event reports
The 1 most recent of 1 reports, in the reporter's own words as published by the FDA.
MalfunctionNov 29, 2017Fracture; Fracture
IT WAS REPORTED FROM (B)(6) THAT DURING AN UNSPECIFIED SURGICAL PROCEDURE, IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE BATTERY INSERTION SHIELD DEVICE WAS BROKEN. IT WAS REPORTED THAT THE EVENT OCCURRED DURING USE ON A PATIENT. IT WAS NOT REPORTED IF THERE WERE ANY DELAYS IN THE SURGICAL PROCEDURE OR IF A SPARE DEVICE WAS AVAILABLE. THERE WAS PATIENT INVOLVEMENT REPORTED. IT WAS NOT REPORTED IF THERE WERE ANY INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED. IF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION SHOULD BECOME AVAILABLE, A SUPPLEMENTAL MEDWATCH REPORT WILL BE SUBMITTED ACCORDINGLY.
Patient problems: No Known Impact Or Consequence To Patient
MAUDE report 7068584 ↗
Other INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT devices
- NA 511.701Synthes GmbH · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT2,164 reports
- SmartLife 7126-120-000Stryker Corporation · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT1,065 reports
- NA 05.001.224Synthes GmbH · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT987 reports
- NA 05.001.206Synthes GmbH · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT632 reports
- NA 532.021Synthes GmbH · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT521 reports
- NA 2570-04-501Depuy (Ireland) · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT500 reports
- NA 532.110Synthes GmbH · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT433 reports
- NA 05.001.223Synthes GmbH · INSTRUMENT, SURGICAL, ORTHOPEDIC, AC-POWERED MOTOR AND ACCESSORY/ATTACHMENT397 reports
Sources and updates
- Device record: FDA GUDID, file dated Oct 13, 2026 · View this device in AccessGUDID ↗
- Adverse event reports: FDA MAUDE, file dated Oct 13, 2026 · each report above links to its original FDA record
- Recalls: FDA Medical Device Recalls, file dated Oct 13, 2026
- Page last rebuilt: Oct 13, 2026. Data downloaded through openFDA, which notes it is not validated for clinical or regulatory use.
How reports and recalls are matched · Editorial policy · Report an error on this page