Skip to content

Purepoint 8065752987Recalls & reported problems

Alcon Laboratories, Inc. · Purepoint Laser · Class 2

Adverse event reports
3
Deaths reported
0
Injuries reported
1
Recalls naming it
0

Summary

The FDA's MAUDE database contains 3 adverse event reports that list this exact device (DI 00380657529872), received between May 2, 2024 and May 15, 2024 — classified as 1 injury, 2 malfunctions.

The most frequently reported specific device problem is “Defective Component” (1 report).

Reports come from manufacturers, hospitals and patients and are not verified by the FDA. A report does not prove the device caused the event, and counts can't be used to compare devices or estimate failure rates. How this data works · Data updated Oct 13, 2026.

Reports received per month

Nov 2023: 0 reportsDec 2023: 0 reportsJan 2024: 0 reportsFeb 2024: 0 reportsMar 2024: 0 reportsApr 2024: 0 reportsMay 2024: 3 reportsJun 2024: 0 reportsJul 2024: 0 reportsAug 2024: 0 reportsSep 2024: 0 reportsOct 2024: 0 reportsNov 2024: 0 reportsDec 2024: 0 reportsJan 2025: 0 reportsFeb 2025: 0 reportsMar 2025: 0 reportsApr 2025: 0 reportsMay 2025: 0 reportsJun 2025: 0 reportsJul 2025: 0 reportsAug 2025: 0 reportsSep 2025: 0 reportsOct 2025: 0 reportsNov 2025: 0 reportsDec 2025: 0 reportsJan 2026: 0 reportsFeb 2026: 0 reportsMar 2026: 0 reportsApr 2026: 0 reportsMay 2026: 0 reportsJun 2026: 0 reportsJul 2026: 0 reportsAug 2026: 0 reportsSep 2026: 0 reportsOct 2026: 0 reports2024202520263
Last 36 months. The most recent month may be incomplete.

Most reported problems

Device problems

  • Defective Component1
  • Energy Spectrum Incorrect1
  • Failure to Fire1
  • Loss of Power1

Patient problems

  • Insufficient Information2
  • Appropriate Clinical Signs, Symptoms and Conditions Term/Code Not Available1
  • No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions1

Recent adverse event reports

The 3 most recent of 3 reports, in the reporter's own words as published by the FDA.

  • MalfunctionMay 15, 2024Loss of Power; Loss of Power

    A NON HEALTHCARE PROFESSIONAL REPORTED THAT AN OPHTHALMIC LASER HAD LOW LASER POWER FROM OPHTHALMOSCOPE. PROCEDURE AND PATIENT HARM WAS NOT REPORTED. ADDITIONAL DETAILS HAS BEEN REQUESTED AND NONE RECEIVED TILL DATE.

    Patient problems: Insufficient Information

    MAUDE report 19318584 ↗
  • InjuryMay 8, 2024Energy Spectrum Incorrect; Energy Spectrum Incorrect

    A CUSTOMER REPORTED THAT THE EYE WAS GETTING FLASHED, GREEN LASER LIGHT COMING THROUGH IN THE TOP CORNER. THE SURGERY WAS COMPLETED AFTER REPLACING THE PRODUCT WITH ANOTHER ONE. THE DETAILS OF PATIENT IMPACT WAS NOT REPORTED.

    Patient problems: Appropriate Clinical Signs, Symptoms and Conditions Term/Code Not Available; No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions

    MAUDE report 19268164 ↗
  • MalfunctionMay 2, 2024Defective Component; Failure to Fire; Defective Component; Failure to Fire

    A CUSTOMER REPORTED THAT AN OPHTHALMIC LASER HAD NO LASER FIRING AND ISSUE WITH HEADPIECE WHICH AXEL WAS BROKEN. DETAILS OF PROCEDURE AND PATIENT HARM WAS NOT REPORTED. ADDITIONAL DETAILS HAS BEEN REQUESTED AND NONE RECEIVED TILL DATE.

    Patient problems: Insufficient Information

    MAUDE report 19228327 ↗

Other Laser, ophthalmic devices

All Laser, ophthalmic devices →

Sources: FDA GUDID, MAUDE and Medical Device Recalls via openFDA. openFDA data is not validated for clinical or regulatory use.