INTRAFIX 254669Recalls & reported problems
Depuy Mitek, LLC · Femoral INTRAFIX Sheath Inserter 8mm - 8.5mm · Class 1
All models of INTRAFIX (14)
Data updated Oct 16, 2026 from official FDA records · Editorial policy
- Adverse event reports
- 4
- Deaths reported
- 0
- Injuries reported
- 0
- Recalls naming it
- 0
Summary
The FDA's MAUDE database contains 4 adverse event reports that list this exact device (DI 10886705013517), received between Aug 11, 2018 and Jun 7, 2022 — classified as 4 malfunctions.
The most frequently reported specific device problem is “Break” (2 reports).
Reports come from manufacturers, hospitals and patients and are not verified by the FDA. A report does not prove the device caused the event, and counts can't be used to compare devices or estimate failure rates. What reports can and can't tell you · How this data works · Data updated Oct 16, 2026.
Most reported problems
Device problems
- Break2
- Crack2
Patient problems
- No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions2
- No Consequences Or Impact To Patient2
Recent adverse event reports
The 4 most recent of 4 reports, in the reporter's own words as published by the FDA.
MalfunctionJun 7, 2022Crack; Crack
THIS IS REPORT 6 OF 7 FOR (B)(4). IT WAS REPORTED BY THE SALES REP THAT TWO OF THE FEMORAL INTRAFIX SHEATH TRIAL, 8MM - 8.5MM, TWO OF THE FEMORAL INTRAFIX SHEATH INSERTER, 8MM - 8.5MM, ONE FEMORAL INTRAFIX SHEATH TRIAL, 9MM - 10MM, ONE FEMORAL INTRAFIX SHEATH INSERTER, 9MM - 10MM AND ONE ACL TIE TENSIONER WERE FOUND CRACKED. THERE WAS NO PROCEDURE NOR PATIENT INVOLVEMENT REPORTED. NO ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WAS PROVIDED.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 14626757 ↗MalfunctionJun 7, 2022Crack; Crack
THIS IS REPORT 2 OF 7 FOR (B)(4). IT WAS REPORTED BY THE SALES REP THAT TWO OF THE FEMORAL INTRAFIX SHEATH TRIAL, 8MM - 8.5MM, TWO OF THE FEMORAL INTRAFIX SHEATH INSERTER, 8MM - 8.5MM, ONE FEMORAL INTRAFIX SHEATH TRIAL, 9MM - 10MM, ONE FEMORAL INTRAFIX SHEATH INSERTER, 9MM - 10MM AND ONE ACL TIE TENSIONER WERE FOUND CRACKED. THERE WAS NO PROCEDURE NOR PATIENT INVOLVEMENT REPORTED.
Patient problems: No Clinical Signs, Symptoms or Conditions
MAUDE report 14626634 ↗MalfunctionSep 13, 2019Break; Break
IT WAS REPORTED BY THE SALES REP THAT DURING ANTERIOR CRUCIATE LIGAMENT (ACL) RECONSTRUCTION SURGICAL PROCEDURE, IT WAS OBSERVED THAT THE HANDLE ON THE FEMORAL INTRAFX SHTH INSRTR8MM BROKE WHILE BEING MALLETED AT THE END OF THE PROCEDURE. THE DOCTOR FINISHED THE PROCEDURE WITH NO PATIENT CONSEQUENCES. IT WAS NOT REPORTED IF THERE WAS A DELAY IN THE SURGICAL PROCEDURE. IT WAS NOT REPORTED IF A SPARE DEVICE AVAILABLE FOR USE TO COMPLETE THE SURGERY. THERE WAS PATIENT INVOLVEMENT. THERE WERE NO REPORTS OF INJURIES, MEDICAL INTERVENTION OR PROLONGED HOSPITALIZATION. ALL AVAILABLE INFORMATION HAS BEEN DISCLOSED. IF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION SHOULD BECOME AVAILABLE, A SUPPLEMENTAL MEDWATCH WILL BE SUBMITTED ACCORDINGLY.
Patient problems: No Consequences Or Impact To Patient
MAUDE report 9038547 ↗MalfunctionAug 11, 2018Break; Break
IT WAS REPORTED BY THE SALES REP THAT DURING AN ACL PROCEDURE BOTH THE CUSTOMER'S INTRAFIX SHEATH INSERTER AND FEMORAL SHEATH INSERTER BROKE AT THE HANDLE IN THIS CASE WHILE BEING MALLETED. THE SALES REP WAS NOT PRESENT AT THE CASE, AND THERE WERE NO REPORTED PATIENT CONSEQUENCES. THEY SWAPPED THE DEVICES WITH OTHER LIKE DEVICES TO COMPLETE THE PROCEDURE.
Patient problems: No Consequences Or Impact To Patient
MAUDE report 7775614 ↗
Other ORTHOPEDIC MANUAL SURGICAL INSTRUMENT devices
- AML EXCEL 2001-42-000Depuy (Ireland) · ORTHOPEDIC MANUAL SURGICAL INSTRUMENT2,009 reports
- NA 03.010.523Synthes GmbH · ORTHOPEDIC MANUAL SURGICAL INSTRUMENT1,208 reports
- EXPRESSEW 214141Medos International Sàrl · ORTHOPEDIC MANUAL SURGICAL INSTRUMENT1,166 reports
- N/A 9560524Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc. · ORTHOPEDIC MANUAL SURGICAL INSTRUMENT866 reports
- INHANCE 6500-11-104Depuy (Ireland) · Orthopedic manual surgical instrument831 reports
- INHANCE 6500-11-102Depuy (Ireland) · Orthopedic manual surgical instrument567 reports
- R3 71364450Smith & Nephew, Inc. · ORTHOPEDIC MANUAL SURGICAL INSTRUMENT520 reports
- N/A 9561524Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc. · ORTHOPEDIC MANUAL SURGICAL INSTRUMENT494 reports
Sources and updates
- Device record: FDA GUDID, file dated Oct 13, 2026 · View this device in AccessGUDID ↗
- Adverse event reports: FDA MAUDE, file dated Oct 14, 2026 · each report above links to its original FDA record
- Recalls: FDA Medical Device Recalls, file dated Oct 16, 2026
- Page last rebuilt: Oct 16, 2026. Data downloaded through openFDA, which notes it is not validated for clinical or regulatory use.
How reports and recalls are matched · Editorial policy · Report an error on this page